If you start to get up right between 9-10 secs, the ref is right to count you out.
Ortiz's own fault. Still, it's frustrating, but the count is the count. It would be unfair to allow Ortiz to fight, and if he did, and got brutally koed immediately everyone would be calling for the refs head.
The time clock has no bearing. It's the refs count that is important. Also, this was about the count only as the fighter appeared to be good to continue on fighting. When the count was 10, his knees were no longer touching the canvas. On top of that and more importantly, when the ref said 10, he was clearly up without struggling to get up.
It was a bad call by the ref. Perhaps the ref could have deducted a point for intentionally spitting out the mouth piece and consequently, would have delayed the fight, for his benefit.
.
Perhaps people here (not you only) should study more about corroborating the boxing rules...
Well the way I see it. . . Ortiz could have continued. . . he wasn't hurt enough to be waved off. . . but also he could have gotten slightly sooner, so it's partly his fault for leaving it until essentially the last second.
Use the online stopwatch alongside the video, he doesn't get up until 12 seconds. His mouth-piece was out, so he would've taken a few more seconds. He didn't deserve to continue even if he wanted to, which I don't believe he did.
No. Because that would go against reality. The ref said 9 when he was still knelt on the canvas.
Originally posted by racer59
These are rules used as a reference since they are universally recognized. So to be exact, they fought in the state of Ohio. The Ohio State Athletic Commission is governed by the Association of Boxing Commissions. The ABC rules do not freely interpret the 10 second count. Therefore you defer to the MoQ rules. However the ABC rules clearly state:
"The boxer is considered to still be in a downed position when in the act of rising from a knockdown. "
So since he didn't complete the act of rising until he hit 10, he is counted out.
Nice work. The act of rising doesn't mean you're up. Up means you're up. He was counted out in the act of rising.
Originally posted by jas
The fighter should get up on the count of 9 and Ortiz didnt
That being said , I've seen some referees count 9 then out like bengy did and some count 10 then out
Who counts 10 and then out? They should be fired.
Originally posted by MPX309
Well the way I see it. . . Ortiz could have continued. . . he wasn't hurt enough to be waved off. . . but also he could have gotten slightly sooner, so it's partly his fault for leaving it until essentially the last second.
Doesn't matter if he could have continued or not. The clown didn't beat the count. And I'm almost certain that he packed it in intentionally.
Comment