Ortiz did not beat the count

Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Larry the boss
    EDUCATED
    Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
    • Jan 2011
    • 90798
    • 6,419
    • 4,473
    • 2,500,480

    #21
    I mean lol...he was clearly up at 9....the entire world saw this..are we now going to change history for Mattyhsee?

    Comment

    • Ragnar Lothbrok
      Banned
      Super Champion - 5,000-10,000 posts
      • May 2010
      • 6329
      • 532
      • 573
      • 7,422

      #22
      Originally posted by Dirk Diggler UK
      Ref waves arms as he's rising = not up.
      Originally posted by Russian Crushin
      He was not down when the ref hit 10
      Originally posted by Public_Enemy
      He was on his feet. Therefore, he was not down.
      good luck trying to explain that to a ricky hatton fan.

      Comment

      • ADP02
        Champ
        Unified Champion - 10,00-20,000 posts
        • Apr 2010
        • 13617
        • 415
        • 1
        • 26,360

        #23
        The time clock has no bearing. It's the refs count that is important. Also, this was about the count only as the fighter appeared to be good to continue on fighting. When the count was 10, his knees were no longer touching the canvas. On top of that and more importantly, when the ref said 10, he was clearly up without struggling to get up.

        It was a bad call by the ref. Perhaps the ref could have deducted a point for intentionally spitting out the mouth piece and consequently, would have delayed the fight, for his benefit.



        .
        Last edited by ADP02; 09-07-2014, 10:48 PM.

        Comment

        • Dirk Diggler UK
          Deleted
          Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
          • Jun 2008
          • 48836
          • 1,312
          • 693
          • 58,902

          #24
          Originally posted by Russian Crushin
          Yes he was, he had risen off the canvas

          The ref also begins his wave before he hits the 10 count

          When he actually says 10, he was completely up as well
          The wave IS the 10 count!

          8, 9, 10/wave/out/fight over.

          Good lord.

          8, 9, 10....and then wave = an 11 count

          Comment

          • Jab-Slip-Troll
            Contender
            Silver Champion - 100-500 posts
            • Aug 2014
            • 380
            • 20
            • 5
            • 6,498

            #25
            Jeeeezus.... Y'all really think Ortiz was gonna last that much longer.

            Comment

            • Dirk Diggler UK
              Deleted
              Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
              • Jun 2008
              • 48836
              • 1,312
              • 693
              • 58,902

              #26
              Originally posted by LarryXXX
              I mean lol...he was clearly up at 9....the entire world saw this..are we now going to change history for Mattyhsee?
              The ref said 9 whilst his knee was still on the canvas, Lazza.

              Comment

              • jaded
                The People's Champion
                Unified Champion - 10,00-20,000 posts
                • Mar 2011
                • 13528
                • 3,543
                • 1,934
                • 1,370,132,035

                #27
                It's the referee's count...not the clock. Obviously the clock showed 13 seconds so if it was the clock then it would have ended 3 seconds earlier.

                But...this screen shot was taken after the referee was showing 9 (trust me)fingers and before he was waving 10 and Ortiz is on his feet so he beat the 10 count. You can see the referee's hand are horizontal and not up in the air. It was close but he beat it.

                [IMG]http://i1343.***********.com/albums/o788/jadedz1/Ortiz10count_zps6e4cf2f3.jpg[/IMG]

                Comment

                • Russian Crushin
                  atheist with a gun
                  Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
                  • Dec 2009
                  • 33788
                  • 1,471
                  • 836
                  • 46,625

                  #28
                  Originally posted by Dirk Diggler UK
                  The wave IS the 10 count!

                  8, 9, 10/wave/out/fight over.

                  Good lord.

                  8, 9, 10....and then wave = an 11 count
                  No, it's not

                  So why did he actually say 10? wouldnt he have said 11 if the wave was the "10" in your fairy world of making up your own rules? The wave was started half a second faster then he said 10, which doesnt make sense anyway. There shouldnt have been a 10 or wave because it was up off the canvas by the time 10 had been reached. He got a 9.2 count, not a 10 count

                  Comment

                  • dan_cov
                    Zombie Taylor
                    Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
                    • Jun 2011
                    • 24528
                    • 3,212
                    • 3,273
                    • 145,001

                    #29
                    He was not totally upright as the count was waived. He'd only just stood up properly as the wave had finished.

                    The ref gave him every chance to get to his feet and he either accidentally waited to long/his body wouldn't react or he thought he'd take it as close to 10 as possible and wanted a way out but to make it look like he wanted to still fight so he wouldn't look a quitter.

                    What do you expect the referee to do stop mid-way through waiving it off?

                    Don't blame the referee, blame the guy who waited until 9.5 seconds to start to rise.

                    Comment

                    • Russian Crushin
                      atheist with a gun
                      Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
                      • Dec 2009
                      • 33788
                      • 1,471
                      • 836
                      • 46,625

                      #30
                      Originally posted by Dirk Diggler UK
                      The ref said 9 whilst his knee was still on the canvas, Lazza.
                      An how about when he said 10

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      TOP