Ortiz did not beat the count
Collapse
-
-
But the rule is not off the canvas
The last part of the rule
" If one man fails to come to the scratch in the 10 seconds allowed, it shall be in the power of the referee to give his award in favour of the other man."
Not hard to misinterpret "come to the scratch"
Even though that's not common American verbiage, it means ready to go, not on your way up or knee off the canvas. Since he wasn't standing up until 10, he is out.Comment
-
The video will not let me embed but watch this and watch the shotime clock.
His knee touches down at 30, he gets to his feet with 17 left on the clock. That is 13 seconds by my watch.
He didn't beat the referees slow count either. He moved towards Ortiz at 9 and he didn't even begin to rise until after he'd said 9
The guy lost, he didn't beat the count and was saved from a blatant hellacious beatdown.
He was down for 13 seconds & didn't beat the 10 count! He was still on his way up when out was called.
I didnt agree with the stoppage cause it robbed me of some La Maquina time but the dude didn't want it. He even spit the mouthpiece out. Did you hear the sound on that shot? OooooweeComment
-
Comment
-
He is off his knee yes but he is still slumped over with his hands almost by his knees, still rising as its waved.
He isn't completely upright and offering his gloves.
I seen his soul leave his body from a Matthysse uppercut just prior, his body language was horrible after that. I think that livershot gave him the excuse he needed to get out of the fight.
You don't take a 9.5 count & risk it if you want to continue.
Why cant he take a 9.5 count, when he has more than thatComment
-
If you check, I actually gave you Green K for admitting that.Comment
-
I stand corrected. I didn't even know blocking from a thread was possible. Thanks as well.Comment
-
I don't even particularly agree with the rule. Common sense says the fight should have gone on. But it's the rules. A 10 count is a 10 count and the ref shouldn't be blamed for following the rules.Comment
-
But the rule is not off the canvas
The last part of the rule
" If one man fails to come to the scratch in the 10 seconds allowed, it shall be in the power of the referee to give his award in favour of the other man."
Not hard to misinterpret "come to the scratch"
Even though that's not common American verbiage, it means ready to go, not on your way up or knee off the canvas. Since he wasn't standing up until 10, he is out.
If either man falls through weakness or otherwise, he must get up unassisted, 10 seconds to be allowed him to do so, the other man meanwhile to return to his corner, and when the fallen man is on his legs the round is to be resumed and continued until the three minutes have expired. If one man fails to come to the scratch in the 10 seconds allowed, it shall be in the power of the referee to give his award in favour of the other man.Comment
Comment