Comments Thread For: No Real Controversy in Dereck Chisora’s Knockout Win

Collapse
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • megadeth
    Floyd stop ducking
    • Sep 2006
    • 2863
    • 118
    • 113
    • 11,495

    #21
    Originally posted by andrewa1
    You and some of the others just didn't read the article, did you? The ref did the appropriate thing under the rules. He was out at 10, still in process of rising, unable to defend himself, and out under the rules. He was already badly losing the fight (check out the compubox domination), no rematch is necessary. You can demand a rule change (although I don't see why, if the fighter wanted to continue, he would get up by 8), but don't slam the result.
    Firstly, he was not in the process of rising, he starting getting up as the ref was saying 9 and was up by nine. You don't need a rule change, you just need the ref to follow the official rules.

    As far as I read, the title of the article is ******, because according to the rules of the BBC and the WBO, he was not "down. Only by some unwritten rule "Boxers, trainers, managers and promoters over here abide by the theory of “Nine and out”.well, that's nice that they abide by it, but how does that fair to foreign fighters who think you follow the official rules?

    The BBC rule say he was down (d) when a Boxer is in the act of rising and in all of the above cases, a Boxer shall be considered to be down until he has regained his feet within the boxing ring and is in a position and a condition to defend himself’.

    WBO says he' down when (f) A contestant shall be considered down when any part of his body, other than his feet.

    Scott broke neither of these rules as he was upright by 9 and nothing was touching the ground other than the soles of his feet.

    Can you please show me where I am wrong? Maybe I misread something?

    Comment

    • Neckodeemus
      Contender
      Silver Champion - 100-500 posts
      • May 2006
      • 279
      • 37
      • 7
      • 6,439

      #22
      Originally posted by megadeth
      Firstly, he was not in the process of rising, he starting getting up as the ref was saying 9 and was up by nine. You don't need a rule change, you just need the ref to follow the official rules.

      As far as I read, the title of the article is ******, because according to the rules of the BBC and the WBO, he was not "down. Only by some unwritten rule "Boxers, trainers, managers and promoters over here abide by the theory of “Nine and out”.well, that's nice that they abide by it, but how does that fair to foreign fighters who think you follow the official rules?

      The BBC rule say he was down (d) when a Boxer is in the act of rising and in all of the above cases, a Boxer shall be considered to be down until he has regained his feet within the boxing ring and is in a position and a condition to defend himself’.

      WBO says he' down when (f) A contestant shall be considered down when any part of his body, other than his feet.

      Scott broke neither of these rules as he was upright by 9 and nothing was touching the ground other than the soles of his feet.

      Can you please show me where I am wrong? Maybe I misread something?
      He wasn't upright by nine, you say yourself he started to get up at nine, so did it take him a -1 second to rise? As I said, he should have been up earlier.

      As for foreign fighters not knowing the official rules, they can download them and there's also a pre-fight rules meeting in which they can iron out any areas of confusion.

      Comment

      • MDPopescu
        Undisputed Champion
        Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
        • Oct 2012
        • 24153
        • 1,504
        • 2,009
        • 4,138,611

        #23
        Well, I've checked the WBO rules (because the fight was sanctioned by WBO)...
        They read as it follows:

        SECTION 25. COUNT
        (a) When a contestant is down, the Referee shall order the opponent to retire to the farthest neutral corner and shall immediately begin the count on the fallen contestant. The Referee shall audibly announce the count while he moves his arm downward indicating the end of each second of the count.
        (b) If the opponent refuses to remain in the neutral corner farthest from the fallen boxer, the Referee shall stop the count until the boxer returns to the corner and shall then resume the count at the point in which it was interrupted. The fallen fighter shall take the compolsory eight (8) count.
        (c) If, when reaching the count of eight (8), the fighter is up, the Referee, if he deems it necessary, may examine said contestant taking all the time needed to evaluate whether the contestant is fit to continue. If the Referee determines that the fighter is fit to continue, the Referee shall promptly order the contest to continue.
        (d) If the contestant taking the count is still down when the Referee calls the count of ten (10), the Referee shall wave both arms indicating that the contestant has been knocked out.
        _____________________________________

        The ref called 9 and immediately waved his arms instead of counting 10...
        Last edited by MDPopescu; 07-23-2013, 08:12 AM.

        Comment

        • ukboxingfan1981
          Contender
          Silver Champion - 100-500 posts
          • Apr 2013
          • 159
          • 3
          • 11
          • 6,686

          #24
          Originally posted by MDPopescu
          The fallen fighter shall take the compolsory eight (8) count.
          (c) If, when reaching the count of eight (8), the fighter is up, the Referee, if he deems it necessary, may examine said contestant taking all the time needed to evaluate whether the contestant is fit to continue. If the Referee determines that the fighter is fit to continue, the Referee shall promptly order the contest to continue.
          (d) If the contestant taking the count is still down when the Referee calls the count of ten (10), the Referee shall wave both arms indicating that the contestant has been knocked out.
          _____________________________________

          The ref called 9 and immediately waved his arms instead of counting 10...
          ok but it seems to me, by your definition, there is a grey area at the '9'.

          Scott rose at almost the instant the ref said 9 and was waved off instantly. There is no-one that can claim (correctly) that the wave substituted the '10' count. It was more representative of a 9.5.

          The question is, what happens when a fighter takes the 8 count but rises on the 9? Seems there is no clear definition.

          IMO, the ref was wrong to call the fight before saying 10 (Scott wasn't hurt and there was no obvious need for medical asst as mentioned by someone else) HOWEVER Scott should have still been up by 8, If he was well enough to carry on then what help is an extra 1-2 seconds of recovery?

          Comment

          • MDPopescu
            Undisputed Champion
            Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
            • Oct 2012
            • 24153
            • 1,504
            • 2,009
            • 4,138,611

            #25
            Originally posted by ukboxingfan1981
            ok but it seems to me, by your definition, there is a grey area at the '9'.

            Scott rose at almost the instant the ref said 9 and was waved off instantly. There is no-one that can claim (correctly) that the wave substituted the '10' count. It was more representative of a 9.5.

            The question is, what happens when a fighter takes the 8 count but rises on the 9? Seems there is no clear definition.

            IMO, the ref was wrong to call the fight before saying 10 (Scott wasn't hurt and there was no obvious need for medical asst as mentioned by someone else) HOWEVER Scott should have still been up by 8, If he was well enough to carry on then what help is an extra 1-2 seconds of recovery?
            This was not my "definition", these are the WBO quoted rulings...
            If they are confusing this is not my fault.

            Comment

            • Russian Crushin
              atheist with a gun
              Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
              • Dec 2009
              • 33788
              • 1,471
              • 836
              • 46,625

              #26
              Originally posted by ukboxingfan1981
              ok but it seems to me, by your definition, there is a grey area at the '9'.

              Scott rose at almost the instant the ref said 9 and was waved off instantly. There is no-one that can claim (correctly) that the wave substituted the '10' count. It was more representative of a 9.5.

              The question is, what happens when a fighter takes the 8 count but rises on the 9? Seems there is no clear definition.

              IMO, the ref was wrong to call the fight before saying 10 (Scott wasn't hurt and there was no obvious need for medical asst as mentioned by someone else) HOWEVER Scott should have still been up by 8, If he was well enough to carry on then what help is an extra 1-2 seconds of recovery?
              What exactly is the gray area?

              Comment

              • MDPopescu
                Undisputed Champion
                Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
                • Oct 2012
                • 24153
                • 1,504
                • 2,009
                • 4,138,611

                #27
                Originally posted by Russian Crushin
                What exactly is the gray area?
                (d) If the contestant taking the count is still down when the Referee calls the count of ten (10), the Referee shall wave both arms indicating that the contestant has been knocked out.
                _____________________________________

                The ref called 9 and immediately waved his arms instead of counting 10...

                THERE WAS NO "GRAY AREA"...

                Comment

                • megadeth
                  Floyd stop ducking
                  • Sep 2006
                  • 2863
                  • 118
                  • 113
                  • 11,495

                  #28
                  Originally posted by MDPopescu
                  (d) If the contestant taking the count is still down when the Referee calls the count of ten (10), the Referee shall wave both arms indicating that the contestant has been knocked out.
                  _____________________________________

                  The ref called 9 and immediately waved his arms instead of counting 10...

                  THERE WAS NO "GRAY AREA"...
                  THANK YOU!!!! Jeez!

                  Comment

                  • megadeth
                    Floyd stop ducking
                    • Sep 2006
                    • 2863
                    • 118
                    • 113
                    • 11,495

                    #29
                    Originally posted by Neckodeemus
                    He wasn't upright by nine, you say yourself he started to get up at nine, so did it take him a -1 second to rise? As I said, he should have been up earlier.

                    As for foreign fighters not knowing the official rules, they can download them and there's also a pre-fight rules meeting in which they can iron out any areas of confusion.
                    Check the video. I watched it 5X, he WAS up by 9!

                    Comment

                    • nycsmooth
                      Undisputed Champion
                      Super Champion - 5,000-10,000 posts
                      • Mar 2011
                      • 8459
                      • 78
                      • 1
                      • 15,892

                      #30
                      aside from all he rules/regs stated, watch it, as I did, several times....it was a blow to the BACK of the head, NOT around the back & he was up as the ref said 9, there was no ten called & the wave was not a "substitute" for 10. Most refs count 10 then use the wave 2 signify over...

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      TOP