What?! It would have changed the outcome! Davis goes from winning round 9 on the two cards that had it a draw to at best tying the round. Thus everything being equal, Davis would have lost on those two cards and it would have been a unanimous decision win for Roach.
Comments Thread For: Lamont Roach Jnr not surprised NYSAC declined appeal of Gervonta Davis draw
Collapse
-
Although I think Roach won, I am completely fine with the knockdown not being called. It was clear that a punch didn't cause the knockdown. I think refs should be able to use their discretion in this type of situation. People are going to scream it is the rule, but Davis was being sincere in his actions.Comment
-
My heart goes out to Lamont Roach but what the NYSAC ruled was very rational. Had they scored that round for Roach then he would have had a legitimate gripe.
However, since two out of the three judges scored it for Davis. It wasn't going to change the outcome of the fight anyway. We would have still had a Draw of 113-113.
However, the fact of the matter is; Gervonta "Tank' Davis still bent the rules.Comment
-
We see this all the time when a fighter forgets to put back on their mouthpiece between rounds. Davis did not do a good job communicating with the referee. If he had, I'm sure the situation could have been resolved without controversy. I'm arguing that the referee was brilliant not to count it as a knockdown because he figured out what was happening.Last edited by Aware; 03-08-2025, 09:51 PM.Comment
-
Comment
-
We see this all the time when a fighter forgets to put back on their mouthpiece between rounds. Davis did not do a good job communicating with the referee. If he had, I'm sure the situation could have been resolved without controversy. I'm arguing that the referee was brilliant not to count it as a knockdown because he figured out what was happening.
A fighter can’t just decide to take a timeout and go to their corner whenever they want. Regardless of the reason when a fighter takes a knee the rules state a 10 count should start and a knockdown awarded.
Should have been scored a knockdown and possibly a DQ for going to the corner.Comment
-
But that’s initiated by the ref who stops the fight and the clock.
A fighter can’t just decide to take a timeout and go to their corner whenever they want. Regardless of the reason when a fighter takes a knee the rules state a 10 count should start and a knockdown awarded.
Should have been scored a knockdown and possibly a DQ for going to the corner.Comment
Comment