Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Comments Thread For: Lamont Roach Jnr not surprised NYSAC declined appeal of Gervonta Davis draw

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #11
    Originally posted by champion4ever View Post
    My heart goes out to Lamont Roach but what the NYSAC ruled was very rational. Had they scored that round for Roach then he would have had a legitimate gripe.

    However, since two out of the three judges scored it for Davis. It wasn't going to change the outcome of the fight anyway. We would have still had a Draw of 113-113.

    However, the fact of the matter is; Gervonta "Tank' Davis still bent the rules.
    What?! It would have changed the outcome! Davis goes from winning round 9 on the two cards that had it a draw to at best tying the round. Thus everything being equal, Davis would have lost on those two cards and it would have been a unanimous decision win for Roach.
    Light_Speed Light_Speed likes this.

    Comment


    • #12
      Originally posted by Aware View Post
      Although I think Roach won, I am completely fine with the knockdown not being called. It was clear that a punch didn't cause the knockdown. I think refs should be able to use their discretion in this type of situation. People are going to scream it is the rule, but Davis was being sincere in his actions.
      Even if it isn't a knockdown, since when is the trainer allowed to touch their fighter who sticks their head outside the ring during the round tho?
      OnePunch OnePunch likes this.

      Comment


      • #13
        Originally posted by champion4ever View Post
        My heart goes out to Lamont Roach but what the NYSAC ruled was very rational. Had they scored that round for Roach then he would have had a legitimate gripe.

        However, since two out of the three judges scored it for Davis. It wasn't going to change the outcome of the fight anyway. We would have still had a Draw of 113-113.

        However, the fact of the matter is; Gervonta "Tank' Davis still bent the rules.
        Forget the knee, but if the ref gave a point deduction for the cornerman touching the fighter during the round, Tank loses the match.
        champion4ever champion4ever likes this.

        Comment


        • #14
          Originally posted by Elheath View Post
          Even if it isn't a knockdown, since when is the trainer allowed to touch their fighter who sticks their head outside the ring during the round tho?
          We see this all the time when a fighter forgets to put back on their mouthpiece between rounds. Davis did not do a good job communicating with the referee. If he had, I'm sure the situation could have been resolved without controversy. I'm arguing that the referee was brilliant not to count it as a knockdown because he figured out what was happening.
          Last edited by Aware; 03-08-2025, 09:51 PM.

          Comment


          • #15
            Originally posted by Grandma Lover View Post

            fvkcing liar lmfao knowing your track record youd find a way to justify it lmfao
            You seem to track me but I literally have no ****ing clue who you are.

            Comment


            • #16
              Originally posted by QballLobo View Post

              You seem to track me but I literally have no ****ing clue who you are.
              Wow your so cool

              Comment


              • #17
                Originally posted by Aware View Post

                We see this all the time when a fighter forgets to put back on their mouthpiece between rounds. Davis did not do a good job communicating with the referee. If he had, I'm sure the situation could have been resolved without controversy. I'm arguing that the referee was brilliant not to count it as a knockdown because he figured out what was happening.
                But that’s initiated by the ref who stops the fight and the clock.

                A fighter can’t just decide to take a timeout and go to their corner whenever they want. Regardless of the reason when a fighter takes a knee the rules state a 10 count should start and a knockdown awarded.

                Should have been scored a knockdown and possibly a DQ for going to the corner.

                Comment


                • #18
                  Originally posted by QballLobo View Post

                  But that’s initiated by the ref who stops the fight and the clock.

                  A fighter can’t just decide to take a timeout and go to their corner whenever they want. Regardless of the reason when a fighter takes a knee the rules state a 10 count should start and a knockdown awarded.

                  Should have been scored a knockdown and possibly a DQ for going to the corner.
                  Yes, but sometimes the fighter communicates it to the ref who then halts the fight.

                  Comment


                  • #19
                    More bullshhh. Tanks trying to clean out the 130lb division.

                    Comment


                    • #20
                      Tank quit. He turned his back and ran. Roach should move on, Tank is the one that needs the rematch, he's the one who left the doubt.

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X
                      TOP