Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Bad Stoppage by Benjy Esteves

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #21
    Originally posted by Dirk Diggler UK View Post
    Please. That bum packed it in and collected his pay cheque. He now has a built in excuse to save face.

    You're out at 10. If the ref counts to 10, the fight is over. Otherwise whats the point in having a 10 count?

    Could he have continued? Probably....but he got counted out. The ref followed the rules.
    lol he was up at 10. ive seen fighters in more physical damage be allowed to continue. that rule just like most rules in boxing should be applied *******ly, not conservatively.

    If the ref did his job this thread wouldnt exist.

    Comment


    • #22
      It was but Ortiz is a d1ckhead. Get your ass up before 9.5 and that won't happen. I don't feel bad for him at all. Lucas was just gonna **** him up anyway.

      Comment


      • #23
        Originally posted by Dirk Diggler UK View Post
        Please. That bum packed it in and collected his pay cheque. He now has a built in excuse to save face.

        You're out at 10. If the ref counts to 10, the fight is over. Otherwise whats the point in having a 10 count?

        Could he have continued? Probably....but he got counted out. The ref followed the rules.
        Go rewatch it. Ortiz was up in time. He was on one knee and got up after Benjy said 9 but was up before he said ten. It was just a bad call.

        Comment


        • #24
          Originally posted by Ragnar Lothbrok View Post
          lol he was up at 10. ive seen fighters in more physical damage be allowed to continue. that rule just like most rules in boxing should be applied *******ly, not conservatively.

          If the ref did his job this thread wouldnt exist.
          That's not the point. He got counted out. Whether he was hurt or not hurt or what. The ref counted to ten. Fight over.

          Don't blame the ref for applying the rules explicitly. Blame the rules or blame Ortiz for being a ***ing idiot.

          Comment


          • #25
            The ref moved closer at 9 and Ortiz didn't even begin to rise until after the ref had said 9, he did not make the count if he did it was by milliseconds & already too late.

            If you are still on your knees after the call of nine you only have yourself to blame.

            Comment


            • #26
              i didnt realize people were such sticklers for the 10 count.

              ok, let me get this straight, there is a standard 8 count, then you have 1 second to decide whether to continue or not and at 10 you are out?



              i would love to see the actual rule for this.

              Comment


              • #27
                Originally posted by Ragnar Lothbrok View Post
                i didnt realize people were such sticklers for the 10 count.

                ok, let me get this straight, there is a standard 8 count, then you have 1 second to decide whether to continue or not and at 10 you are out?



                i would love to see the actual rule for this.
                I'm not a stickler. I'd have personally let him continue taking a beating.

                But referees have a job to do and they have to follow actual rules to the letter of the law. You're out at 10.

                I'm pretty sure he decided earlier than 8 if he wanted to continue.

                Comment


                • #28
                  Originally posted by Ragnar Lothbrok View Post
                  i didnt realize people were such sticklers for the 10 count.

                  ok, let me get this straight, there is a standard 8 count, then you have 1 second to decide whether to continue or not and at 10 you are out?



                  i would love to see the actual rule for this.
                  Ortiz is a lame bro

                  Comment


                  • #29
                    He was on both feet before the ref said ten. I don't see what the argument is. The closest fight I can think of was Barker/Geale. Barker barely beat the count and he was in visible pain and laying on the mat. But he made it up just before the ten count.

                    Comment


                    • #30
                      Originally posted by Dirk Diggler UK View Post
                      I'm not a stickler. I'd have personally let him continue taking a beating.

                      But referees have a job to do and they have to follow actual rules to the letter of the law. You're out at 10.

                      I'm pretty sure he decided earlier than 8 if he wanted to continue.
                      can you provide evidence showing that the rules state that at exactly 10 you're out?

                      thanks in advance.

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X
                      TOP