Team Huni officially PROTEST loss "Justis was robbed he won by UD"

Collapse
Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • NihonJim
    Interim Champion
    Gold Champion - 500-1,000 posts
    • Dec 2024
    • 840
    • 406
    • 97
    • 0

    #1

    Team Huni officially PROTEST loss "Justis was robbed he won by UD"



    I wonder if the result will be overturned
  • drablj
    Interim Champion
    Gold Champion - 500-1,000 posts
    • Nov 2010
    • 686
    • 248
    • 608
    • 17,293

    #2


    9 seconds after huni fell, ref waived it off while huni was standing. bad stoppage in my opinion but it can't be overturned to a win like they want.

    Comment

    • lsgraham_uk
      Amateur
      Interim Champion - 1-100 posts
      • Nov 2008
      • 2
      • 0
      • 18
      • 15,127

      #3
      Down at 2 seconds up at 13. Learn to count maybe?

      Comment

      • RingoKid
        Contender
        Silver Champion - 100-500 posts
        • Feb 2025
        • 167
        • 108
        • 62
        • 0

        #4
        Looks like the ref started counting at 6...

        Comment

        • NihonJim
          Interim Champion
          Gold Champion - 500-1,000 posts
          • Dec 2024
          • 840
          • 406
          • 97
          • 0

          #5
          Originally posted by RingoKid
          Looks like the ref started counting at 6...
          The timekeeper starts the count when the fighter hits the floor and the ref picks up the count

          Comment

          • Toffee
            Undisputed Champion
            Super Champion - 5,000-10,000 posts
            • Oct 2018
            • 7244
            • 2,499
            • 74
            • 62,824

            #6
            Originally posted by lsgraham_uk
            Down at 2 seconds up at 13. Learn to count maybe?
            Learn the rules of boxing.

            Comment

            • Toffee
              Undisputed Champion
              Super Champion - 5,000-10,000 posts
              • Oct 2018
              • 7244
              • 2,499
              • 74
              • 62,824

              #7
              Originally posted by NihonJim
              https://www.nine.com.au/sport/combat...08-p5m5qa.html

              I wonder if the result will be overturned
              Australian News is absolute trash. They talk about things they don't understand.

              But that said, the referee was very keen to wave this off. A bit too keen for a fighter who had the fight comfortably won unless he was stopped.

              And since when was it a 9 count?
              Last edited by Toffee; 06-08-2025, 04:23 AM.

              Comment

              • kafkod
                I am Fanboy. Very Fanboy
                Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
                • Sep 2013
                • 24813
                • 2,186
                • 1,804
                • 405,373

                #8
                Originally posted by Toffee

                Australian News is absolute trash. They talk about things they don't understand.

                But that said, the referee was very keen to wave this off. A bit too keen for a fighter who had the fight comfortably won unless he was stopped.

                And since when was it a 9 count?
                I did my best to follow the count accurately by watching the ref after I heard the timekeeper start calling it. It looked to me like Huni was up at nine, or a little over nine, but definitely before 10. The rules say a downed fighter should be up and ready to continue fighting within the 10 count. Humi didn't look ready to continue by 10 to me, but if the ref had taken a few seconds to check him out before making his decision, he might have recovered enough.

                Off the top of my head, I can think of 3 other fights where a fighter was decked and got up at nine-and-a-bit, all HW fights: Fury vs Wilder 1, Ref allowed Fury to fight on. Scott vs Chisora, ref waved it off. Dubois vs Usyk, ref waved it off.

                Ready to continue fighting is a judgement call by the ref. So the ref acted within the rules by waving Huni out. I can't see an appeal going anywhere.
                Last edited by kafkod; 06-08-2025, 09:52 AM.

                Comment

                • lsgraham_uk
                  Amateur
                  Interim Champion - 1-100 posts
                  • Nov 2008
                  • 2
                  • 0
                  • 18
                  • 15,127

                  #9
                  image.pngimage.png

                  Can't see any argument on 10 seconds going by that. Down at 2 still not up 10 seconds later. The rules say must be within that time period.
                  ​​

                  Comment

                  • hugh grant
                    Undisputed Champion
                    Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
                    • Apr 2006
                    • 30334
                    • 2,171
                    • 860
                    • 105,596

                    #10
                    You was silly to take that Haymaker in first place

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    TOP