No announcement yet.

I sparred a professional tomato can and I got whooped

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• I sparred a professional tomato can and I got whooped

I am sick of seeing stupid comments made by people who think they know it all as far as boxing is concerned and labeling 90% of boxers as bums or no good.

Well, I want to share an experience that I had sparring with a guy who fought as a pro and whose career record was 13-27. He's a great guy too so I won't mention his name to embarrass him. As a matter of fact by creating this thread I am embarrassing myself to all those armchair experts who think they can do it better than the pro fighters.

So just a little info about me. I started training boxing when I was 14 and I trained for a year. I was about average. When I was 15 I injured my back and had to give up the sport. I was in rehabilitation for 2 years and then decided to come back when I was 17, I trained for 5,6 months and I believe I was a little better than before but had to quit, moved to North America.

So at age of 21 weighing roughly 135 pounds at 5 7 I joined a boxing studio at a fitness gym and after a couple of months I asked the trainer, the pro fighter in question, "the tomato can" to spar me. He was about 5 9, a southpaw and a little heavier than me. He took it easy on me but I got overconfident and decided to open up. I landed a few good hard shots then he got upset he tried to get me back. He couldn't at first then he slowed me down with a few precise body shots and he pretty much teed off on me. He wasn't a heavy puncher, but I just received too many punches period to the point where I was getting angrier and angrier wanting to kill him, but then decided that will make it only worse so I took a knee.