Who is the best win on Jack Dempsey's resume?

Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • Willie Pep 229
    hic sunt dracone
    Super Champion - 5,000-10,000 posts
    • Mar 2020
    • 6355
    • 2,823
    • 2,769
    • 29,169

    #31
    Tunney could have gotten up at the time keeper's 9 if he had too, but one has to wonder if he would have gone 'zab judah' ? -- he certainly would have found it more difficult to get on his bicycle the way he did. -- He seems to clear his head at the referee count of 4 (which is the time keeper's 8) so he would have had to leap up.

    Dempsey's people didn't want Dave Barry; Tunney's people insisted on him.
    Last edited by Willie Pep 229; 07-22-2020, 09:37 PM.

    Comment

    • ShoulderRoll
      Join The Great Resist
      Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
      • Oct 2009
      • 55878
      • 10,014
      • 5,015
      • 763,445

      #32
      Tunney doesn't count as a win on Dempsey's resume.

      But for sure he was the best fighter Jack ever fought.

      Comment

      • HOUDINI563
        Undisputed Champion
        Platinum Champion - 1,000-5,000 posts
        • Sep 2014
        • 3851
        • 413
        • 5
        • 32,799

        #33
        At one time I though Tunney would have risen in time. I don’t believe so any longer. The way he was sitting on the canvas was awkward. He was absolutely hit with a ko blow from Dempsey. Had it been a legit ten count Tunney just misses to rise from the canvas.

        Comment

        • QueensburyRules
          Undisputed Champion
          Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
          • May 2018
          • 21835
          • 2,355
          • 17
          • 187,708

          #34
          - -Where the Jack Sharkey poll by Dumrolls?

          What?

          Buried somewhere in doo doo land?

          Comment

          • Rusty Tromboni
            Banned
            Platinum Champion - 1,000-5,000 posts
            • Dec 2018
            • 4353
            • 70
            • 103
            • 116,487

            #35
            Originally posted by HOUDINI563
            At one time I though Tunney would have risen in time. I don’t believe so any longer. The way he was sitting on the canvas was awkward. He was absolutely hit with a ko blow from Dempsey. Had it been a legit ten count Tunney just misses to rise from the canvas.
            Watch Gene's gaze. That tells the whole story.

            I know you've never Boxed or done KickBoxing. But a dude who's been KO'd doesn't maintain focus like that.

            His leg is trapped under him, but he needed to begin to rise to get it out from under him - which was unncessary. He was hurt BAD, but he was fully conscious.

            I dunno how anyone who's Boxed (and actually been KO'd) can really dispute that Gene was mentally intact and would have beaten the count.

            Comment

            • Willie Pep 229
              hic sunt dracone
              Super Champion - 5,000-10,000 posts
              • Mar 2020
              • 6355
              • 2,823
              • 2,769
              • 29,169

              #36
              Originally posted by Rusty Tromboni
              Watch Gene's gaze. That tells the whole story.

              I know you've never Boxed or done KickBoxing. But a dude who's been KO'd doesn't maintain focus like that.

              His leg is trapped under him, but he needed to begin to rise to get it out from under him - which was unncessary. He was hurt BAD, but he was fully conscious.

              I dunno how anyone who's Boxed (and actually been KO'd) can really dispute that Gene was mentally intact and would have beaten the count.
              Absolutely, but not until the referee's count of four, and the time keeper's count of eight. You can actually see Tunney's head clear and then pick up Barry's count.

              Comment

              • HOUDINI563
                Undisputed Champion
                Platinum Champion - 1,000-5,000 posts
                • Sep 2014
                • 3851
                • 413
                • 5
                • 32,799

                #37
                He would have had 4.5 fewer seconds to recuperate enough to rise fully off the canvas while sitting on his haunches.

                Looking at the ref does not mean he beats the count. Certainly either alternative is possible.

                However, 4.5 seconds is an eternity in terms of recouping from that sort of blow. Recouping and then lifting oneself off the canvas.

                Comment

                • billeau2
                  Undisputed Champion
                  Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
                  • Jun 2012
                  • 27644
                  • 6,396
                  • 14,933
                  • 339,839

                  #38
                  Originally posted by Rusty Tromboni
                  Watch Gene's gaze. That tells the whole story.

                  I know you've never Boxed or done KickBoxing. But a dude who's been KO'd doesn't maintain focus like that.

                  His leg is trapped under him, but he needed to begin to rise to get it out from under him - which was unncessary. He was hurt BAD, but he was fully conscious.

                  I dunno how anyone who's Boxed (and actually been KO'd) can really dispute that Gene was mentally intact and would have beaten the count.
                  Agreed. Technically it is a lost art, using the count, being able to use every number to put the pieces together as much as one can. Many a fighter has tried to get up too fast and lost when they might have bought more time taking the count in its entirety.

                  Comment

                  • billeau2
                    Undisputed Champion
                    Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
                    • Jun 2012
                    • 27644
                    • 6,396
                    • 14,933
                    • 339,839

                    #39
                    Originally posted by HOUDINI563
                    He would have had 4.5 fewer seconds to recuperate enough to rise fully off the canvas while sitting on his haunches.

                    Looking at the ref does not mean he beats the count. Certainly either alternative is possible.

                    However, 4.5 seconds is an eternity in terms of recouping from that sort of blow. Recouping and then lifting oneself off the canvas.
                    Its a skill... Gene was so self possesed that he could take that count to the very end.

                    Comment

                    • HOUDINI563
                      Undisputed Champion
                      Platinum Champion - 1,000-5,000 posts
                      • Sep 2014
                      • 3851
                      • 413
                      • 5
                      • 32,799

                      #40
                      It was the first time Tunney had ever been dropped. Had the count been normal he would have had 4.5 seconds less to recuperate from that ko left hook. That’s a lifetime in this situation.

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      TOP