No announcement yet.

Guidance for a Beginner

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Guidance for a Beginner

I've been reading these forums for the last few days and found it a reliable, informative place to be. That said, a lot of the advice that goes on is for people who are already in the game so to speak, so i thought i'd put together a detailed post on what i'm currently doing both training and diet wise to be critique'd and told whether or not i'm on the right road or, if i should switch gym's or even if boxing is for me at all.

I'm 26.
    I currently weigh 12stone/76.2kg/168lbs whichever system you use. Although before i started training i weighed 177lbs. About 4 years ago i was around 126lbs but had some issues which led to rapid weight gain.
    I'm 5'10".
    I've probably done 12 sessions at this gym.
    I was a couch potato before it so had zero fitness, even less strength and a rather large pot belly
    I'm using 14oz gloves which are hell at the end of a session.

I'll start off with my diet. On an average day, these are my eating habits.

9am - Breakfast. Cereal and semi-skimmed milk. The cereal varies from Bran Flakes, Shredded Wheat or Muesli. On rare occassions i'll have a 2 egg omelette. I dont add sugar to the cereal or cheese to the omelette.

12pm-1pm - Lunch. Usually Ham + Salad sandwich, although sometimes i do cheat here, depends on what the missis is having. If she wants to go to the chip shop, i'll usally have some chips. Thats terrible i know but it's not very often. I'd rather be honest.

5pm - Dinner. I make something for my daughter and if it's a training night, i'll have pasta for the energy. I usually have tuna and onions with my pasta and a hot sauce. If i'm not training i'll try to have chicken, tuna or something else with high protein content and not a lot of carbs, notice the try. While i dont eat clean 100%, im not a processed food junkie.