For reasons only he can explain, Ivan Redkach made the conscious decision to take a bite out of Danny Garcia's shoulder during their recent title eliminator.

In turn, the presiding commission took a hefty bite out his career.

Los Angeles' Redkach was dealt a hefty fine and suspension by the New York State Athletic Commission for his deplorable conduct in a 12-round loss to Philadelphia’s Garcia in their January 25 clash at Barclays Center in Brooklyn, New York. The bizarre actions by the 33-year old Ukrainian southpaw were disciplined after the fact, and to the highest allowable extreme.

"Mr. Redkach was issued the maximum fine of $10,000 for engaging in dangerous, disorderly and unsportsmanlike conduct,” Mercedes Padilla, spokesperson for NYSAC confirmed to of the ruling handed down on Wednesday. “Mr. Redkach’s license as a professional boxer is suspended for one year.”

The development was first reported by freelance writer Michael Woods.

The infraction in question occurred near the final minute of the 8th round of their title eliminator, which topped the January 25 edition of Showtime Championship Boxing. As the two were in a clinch and in the process of being separated by referee Benjy Esteves, Redkach (23-5-1, 18KOs) leaned in and bit Garcia (36-2, 21KOs) just below the left side of his neck.

Garcia halfheartedly laughed off the sequence while pointing to his shoulder and informing the third man of what took place. No in-ring disciplinary action was taken, as the former two-division titlist went on to win a 12-round decision by scores of 117-111 (twice) and 118-110 to land as the mandatory challenger for the World Boxing Council (WBC) currently held by Errol Spence.

The lack of on-site official acknowledgement of the foul meant that Redkach was able to leave with his reported $300,000 purse by the end of the night. Further review by the NYSAC determined that not only is a stiff punishment warranted, but that “Mr. Redkach’s purse from the bout shall be forfeited and paid to the Commission.

As with all such matters, an appeal process is in place, which—at the very least—could buy some time for Redkach in the event he is required to return the purse in full.

“Mr. Redkach has the right to challenge these penalties if he so chooses with a formal hearing,” the NYSAC office confirmed.

Jake Donovan is a senior writer for Twitter: @JakeNDaBox