Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Did Mayweather Have Any Flaws in His Game?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Did Mayweather Have Any Flaws in His Game?

I keep thinking about any flaws, I'm no boxing expert, and I can't think of a single one. Apart from physical injuries (brittle hands) later in his career, did he ever make mistakes in the ring? Any fights where he lost focus and slipped up?

He was at a level where you couldn't really pick up the flaws because nobody tested him enough. He was always able to adapt through any situation.

Comment

If there's anything to nitpick is maybe how uncomfortable he is with a jab in his face. DLH, Maidana and Cotto were all snappping his head with jabs. had he fought Winky in 2005 like he was planning to he would've lost. if Oscar didn't gas out and abandon his jab he would've won too. other than that Floyd is the perfect boxer.

Comment

I mean for a guy who went through a 49 fight career (I don't count the McGregor fight), there's going to be some bumps in the road, that's unavoidable, but all in all it was probably as flawless of a 49 fight career as it could be

That said, there's the infamous Castillo fight where he got out power-punched by some one hundred power shots, and out punched in total by some 50 shots...at least according to compubox (Lederman also had Castillo winning by 4 rds for whatever that's worth) and then there was the time when he was on queer street by Mosley (but to his credit he came back and dominated)

Comment

Originally posted by iamboxing View Post
          I keep thinking about any flaws, I'm no boxing expert, and I can't think of a single one. Apart from physical injuries (brittle hands) later in his career, did he ever make mistakes in the ring? Any fights where he lost focus and slipped up?
          Balance mainly.