No announcement yet.

Do fundamentals actually matter

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Do fundamentals actually matter

Hi, I’m new to boxing but I loved watching boxing, and I was wondering if the whole basic stuff my coach and many others teach is not very good. Im taught to always keep my hands up, never over commit and unbalance myself never cross my feet and don’t have a squared stance, keep my punches tight etc but many videos I see of Elite boxers don’t follow these. Many boxers do tend to walk around opponents and cross their feet all the time. The likes of Ali, Joe Walcott and Roy Jones JR seem to always have their hands down. Seeing Ali hit the heavy bag it’s like his hands are always down by his hips, and same with Floyd. Ruddock drops his hand so much to load his punch, which Is a huge tell and a giant no-no according to most trainers. Mike Tyson has a very squared stance which shouldn’t work because it gives more area to be hit, and Pacquiao literally jumps into his right cross, like technically he should’ve been way off balance but always seems to land it? Deontay wilder swings like he’s in a street fight and George foreman always seem to not have very clean punches, and I see many people commenting how they both lacked skill and fundamentals but they win anyways. Inoue puts his opposite hand down when throwing hard hooks, but you’re supposed to keep it up to block counters. Are these people just genetic freaks or are basic techniques not very useful?

Not if you have Wilder's power

Comment

Everybody is new to boxing int the training section

Comment

Listen to your trainer. Before you attempt musical improvisation, you gotta practice a lot of scales.

Comment