No announcement yet.

Credit Card/Score question

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Credit Card/Score question

I'm new to credit cards and credit score, I tried googling this but can't find anything concrete and recent.

My question is, if you pay a balance from a credit card before the due date is even determined, would this still be reported to the credit bureaus as an on time payment? Or is it better to get the due date and then pay it anytime after that (After knowing the due date)?

I'm trying build the score to mid 700s in 6-8 months, just want to make payments as soon as possible, even if it's like 2 weeks away from the due date. Would that still get reported? I read some where that if you make a payment too early that it'll just count as if you never used that amount you pay off early? That doesn't sound right. So if you use a credit card for a certain purchase, and then a week after you say what the heck, let me just pay off this purchase(Or at least pay something, like more than the minimum) and get it over with. So that won't get reported as an on-time payment?

It counts as on-time payment, but it's better to wait for the due date to appear on your statement and then pay it 3 days before.

Comment

Originally posted by Underboss View Post
      It counts as on-time payment, but it's better to wait for the due date to appear on your statement and then pay it 3 days before.
      Why do you suggest 3 days before?

And how about the processing time for the creditor to charge your debit/checking account for the balance? Wouldn't that take like 3-5 business days, leading to a late payment and then a late payment fee+late payment gets reported?

Comment

As long as you make the payment on or before the due date, it doesn't matter. Most credit cards report to credit bureaus on a monthly basis, anyway.

I work for a bank and I'm not aware of anything that tracks how EARLY you made a payment in the monthly cycle.