Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What Should I look for when buying boxing gloves????

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What Should I look for when buying boxing gloves????

Hey guys,

I am new to boxing and I would like to know what qualities should I look for when buying new boxing gloves? What do you guys look for when buying boxing gloves??

Also, When buying boxing gloves, should I buy only 1 pair for both sparring and training or buy separate boxing gloves for each? P.S when looking for boxing glove reviews, I have come across the topic of whether you should get two boxing gloves or 1 pair. Do the reviews that recommend 1 pair of boxing gloves for both training and sparring satisfy your result when looking for the best boxing glove or should I look for reviews that recommend training and sparring gloves, just both, or everything combined???

Thanks!

Only way to tell is try them on, some just fit better than others. Check with your gym/trainer first too, in my experience some of them dislike a certain brand and won't want you to spar with those. And some don't want you to spar with slide on/velcro.

I use diff gloves for sparring and bags. Some guys can hit a bag in big old 16-18 oz gloves, I can't do it. I like really light gloves on the bag.

I would get for sparring 16 oz lace ups and for bag the smallest thing you can find that still offers wrist support.
    Last edited by ////; 10-03-2015, 05:49 PM.

Comment

You got the gloves you spar with...and you got bag gloves..aka the ones you hit the bag with.....but it just all really depends on your hand condition.some people have to hit the bag with heavily padded gloves

Comment

Originally posted by Cruisin' View Post
        Only way to tell is try them on, some just fit better than others. Check with your gym/trainer first too, in my experience some of them dislike a certain brand and won't want you to spar with those. And some don't want you to spar with slide on/velcro.