No announcement yet.

training for 4 and 8 year old

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• training for 4 and 8 year old

So my kids are interested in boxing. My boy is 4 and my daughter is 8. I was an amateur boxer in my younger days but didnt start boxing till my early 20s so i never boxed as a kid. So far i have been teaching them how to throw punches correctly and doing some mitt work. Can you give me some non contact drills that will keep them busy because im sure theyll get bored with doing mitts?

Your children are no were near the age when their bone develop has matured to the point when physical active thats stressfull in any degree should be under taken. Long bones are growing and cells are trying to keep filling them so certain activities should be avoided.
    Concentrate on non stress activities like swimming, becarefull with jumping and running on hard surfaces.
    I was a Junior Olympic Chairman in Conn. and coached at the Olympic Training Center so I have a solid background concerning youth and youth boxing. A good age to start instruction is around 12 yrs old. Their still far from grown so the training should not be anywhere near what a 18 year old would take on.
    Ray

Comment

Originally posted by Ray Corso View Post
      Your children are no were near the age when their bone develop has matured to the point when physical active thats stressfull in any degree should be under taken. Long bones are growing and cells are trying to keep filling them so certain activities should be avoided.
      Concentrate on non stress activities like swimming, becarefull with jumping and running on hard surfaces.
      I was a Junior Olympic Chairman in Conn. and coached at the Olympic Training Center so I have a solid background concerning youth and youth boxing. A good age to start instruction is around 12 yrs old. Their still far from grown so the training should not be anywhere near what a 18 year old would take on.
      Ray