Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

You Be The Ref

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #21
    Originally posted by BostonGuy View Post
    Scenario #2

    Fighter A and Fighter B are in close quarters fighting on the 'inside.' A misses with one of his shots but clips B with his head unintentionally causing a cut above his eye. Fighter B recoils from the head-butt, realizes (or not) that he's cut and turns away from Fighter A; disengaging from the action...


    You're the ref, what do you do in this situation?
    I would first order the uninjured fighter to a neutral corner while telling the fighters to watch their heads. If the cuts bad than I would call for the doctor to have a look. Then I would signal to the judges that an unintentional headbutt caused the cut on the fighter and I would then order the injured fighter to either square up and fight or he will be disqualified. All assuming that the cut is not too severe........... Rockin'
    Last edited by Rockin'; 01-22-2014, 10:51 PM.

    Comment


    • #22
      if the ref has started a count, the cornermen would disqualify their fighter when they got into the ring.


      i don't think you're giving enough information. is the ref counting?



      most referees are going to start a count if a clean blow lands during the round and it drops a man.

      the blow lands before the bell. the fighter drops immediately after the bell, correct? i'd start counting.

      now, if the fighter takes a bomb and stays upright, and drops on his way back to the corner after a few steps, it's a different scenario [and extremely rare.] if that's the case, he's got a minute to prove to me that he's able to continue.

      Comment


      • #23
        Scenario #3

        The 3 knock down rule is in effect.

        Fighter A KD's fighter B 2 times. Then there is a heavy exchange where both fighters go down. Fighter A is completely unconcious while fighter B jumps up immidiately.

        You are the ref. What do you do?
        Last edited by BostonGuy; 01-26-2014, 10:30 AM.

        Comment


        • #24
          Originally posted by BattlingNelson View Post
          The 3 knock down rule is in effect.

          Fighter A KD's fighter B 2 times. Then there is a heavy exchange where both fighters go down. Fighter A is completely unconcious while fighter B jumps up immidiately.

          You are the ref. What do you do?
          great scenario, this one has never even crossed my mind before.


          fighter a wins because the 3kd rule is inacted once fighter b went down............Rockin'

          Comment


          • #25
            Originally posted by New England View Post



            the blow lands before the bell. the fighter drops immediately after the bell, correct? i'd start counting.

            .
            that's actually incorrect. the fighter must hit the canvas before the bell rings to be considered down.............. Rockin'

            Comment


            • #26
              Originally posted by Rockin' View Post
              great scenario, this one has never even crossed my mind before.


              fighter a wins because the 3kd rule is inacted once fighter b went down............Rockin'
              Wrong.

              You see the first 2 KD's happened in previous rounds, so as the referee you start the count and when you reach 10, fighter A is out.

              Comment


              • #27
                Scenario

                Fighter A is punishing, really dominating and taking the fight to fighter B. Towards the end of the round at the 2:30 mark, fighter A knocks fighter B down and looks to be on the verge of the knockout. Fighter B, instinctively spits out his mouth piece to try to gain some extra time.

                You be the ref, what do you do?
                Last edited by BostonGuy; 01-03-2015, 10:37 AM.

                Comment


                • #28
                  Kick fighter B in the teeth while he has no protection?

                  Comment


                  • #29
                    Originally posted by BostonGuy View Post
                    Scenario

                    Fighter A is punishing, really dominating and taking the fight to fighter B. Towards the end of the round at the 2:30 mark, fighter A knocks fighter B down and looks to be on the verge of the knockout. Fighter B, instinctively spits out his mouth piece to try to gain some extra time.

                    You be the ref, what do you do?
                    Originally posted by Rockin'
                    call stop, pick up mouth piece to get it cleaned and then dock fighter B a point for purposely spitting it out.......... Rockin'
                    This is the natural inclination. However, as I stated - fighter A was on the verge of KO'ing fighter B. If you administer the 8 count, pick up the mouth piece, get it cleaned and dock fighter B a point - then you have really inadvertently given fighter B time to recover and possibly finish out the round.

                    If I was the ref (and I have hindsight), I'd administer the 8 count, get the mouth cleaned and back in, and then start back the fight. Fighter A would then have a good 20 or so seconds to press for the knockout.

                    This was an actual scenario from the Mares-Ramirez fight a few weeks back. The ref (Jack Reiss) did exactly what Rockin' suggested and in doing so, he helped Ramirez get through the round because there was little time left after the prolonged delay.

                    Comment


                    • #30
                      Originally posted by BostonGuy View Post
                      This is the natural inclination. However, as I stated - fighter A was on the verge of KO'ing fighter B. If you administer the 8 count, pick up the mouth piece, get it cleaned and dock fighter B a point - then you have really inadvertently given fighter B time to recover and possibly finish out the round.

                      If I was the ref (and I have hindsight), I'd administer the 8 count, get the mouth cleaned and back in, and then start back the fight. Fighter A would then have a good 20 or so seconds to press for the knockout.

                      This was an actual scenario from the Mares-Ramirez fight a few weeks back. The ref (Jack Reiss) did exactly what Rockin' suggested and in doing so, he helped Ramirez get through the round because there was little time left after the prolonged delay.
                      I was thinking if it was the first time he spit out I would offer a brief warning and let the action continue.

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X
                      TOP