Collapse
No announcement yet.

Need advice to deal with southpaw. . .

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Need advice to deal with southpaw. . .

As I've already posted I'm pretty new to the sport. I started sparring with my trainer and then moved on to other guys in the gym that my trainer thought would be a good match. The guy I'm sparring tomorrow is bigger and stronger, has been doing it longer than me. . .and is a lefty. I trust my trainer and he told me this other guy isn't a headhunter and is a bright guy and is just looking to work on stuff so it should be a good thing, I'm just a little nervous on how to handle a lefty.

Any tips?

what kind of style do you normally have? Inside a lot? Lots of jabs? Agressive, defensive, etc?

Comment

So far here is the way that I have success.

Lots of jabs, especially double jabs. Slip, left hook. If I can get the guy to back up with the double jab (Beginners like me) then I can move aggressively in and score. Otherwise once I have established the jab I can score by fake jab followed by left hook to body then left hook to head. I have trouble scoring with the right. However, if I can land left hooks early then it opens up the right. Really I'm an outside fighter that tries to use the jab as defense and to set up combinations. And I circle and move constantly.

Comment

As you circle try to make sure you keep your toes on the outside of his. You should have an easier time landing the right against a southpaw so look for that... to the body too. You're probably used to (and more comfortable) circling to your right which is ok but just remember you're moving towards his power hand when you do that. Keeping your foot outside his will help neutralize that.