Judge The Shawn Porter "SLIP" in The Ugas Fight. VIDEO INSIDE

Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • deanrw
    Mayor Ford's dealer...
    Unified Champion - 10,00-20,000 posts
    • Feb 2008
    • 13095
    • 1,047
    • 1,007
    • 1,860,285

    #31
    That was no knockdown, even if you disregard his slip. The so called punch was a forearm into the back of the neck. Now if he would have landed an elbow to his eye then it would been legal of course.

    Comment

    • dannnnn
      Undisputed Champion
      Platinum Champion - 1,000-5,000 posts
      • May 2006
      • 1627
      • 896
      • 2,349
      • 19,273

      #32
      I have no horse in this race but I have to laugh at these idiots in here claiming it can't be a knockdown because the punch didn't land clean.

      If a punch lands anywhere (legal) and causes the other person to go down, it's a knockdown, full stop. You can knock someone off balance with a punch to the shoulder and it's a knockdown.

      From what I see on that GIF it was a knockdown. Not a great one, but a knockdown nonetheless.

      Comment

      • Granath
        Contender
        • Dec 2018
        • 455
        • 38
        • 15
        • 15,878

        #33
        Watch the video but slow it down. It's a clear slip for two reasons.

        1. The punch is a forearm to the back of the head - non scoring. Not called by the ref. No big deal. Since it's not called then it could be called a knockdown except the more important reason #2....

        2. Even if you want to make the case the punch hits his shoulder, Porter's back toe makes connection on the mat and slips out from under him. I dare anyone to watch his back toe at .25 speed here (https://********/-k7NCtz4Jwc?t=17) and tell me that back toe doesn't connect with the mat and then slip out. The back foot flops out for cryin' out loud.

        However, in real time it could also be seen as a punch on the forearm that caused him to drop and I wouldn't have faulted the ref in calling it a knockdown.

        It was a great call and that's damn good refereeing. Either way, if Ugas think that's the reason he didn't get the decision then he didn't do enough to earn it in the first place.
        Last edited by Granath; 03-10-2019, 03:01 PM.

        Comment

        • strykr619
          Undisputed Champion
          Platinum Champion - 1,000-5,000 posts
          • Sep 2010
          • 3120
          • 201
          • 104
          • 56,729

          #34
          Originally posted by 4truth
          The punch can land on the guard but if it knocks you down it's still a knockdown.

          I didn't even consider exactly where the punch landed.
          People aren't getting this concept. They think that its only a KD if it connects clearly. That's wasn't a slip due to surface issues. That was a KD due to him being knocked off balance from the hit.

          Comment

          • Loque-san
            Undisputed Champion
            Platinum Champion - 1,000-5,000 posts
            • Feb 2014
            • 2642
            • 422
            • 89
            • 22,121

            #35
            Clear knockdown. It doesn't matter if the punch lands or not or if it lands on the shoulder or the forearm. Ugas threw a punch that touched Porter who fell to the ground. That's a knockdown. Nine referees out of ten at least would have rightfully given Porter an eight count.

            Comment

            • kidbazooka
              Banned
              Unified Champion - 10,00-20,000 posts
              • Dec 2015
              • 10062
              • 278
              • 2
              • 133,405

              #36
              Originally posted by lolpz
              This should be pointed out more... How can anyone give round 12 to Porter? Not even the bozo who inexplicably gave Porter 8 rounds was clown enough to give him the 12th.
              Haymon made sure Ugas was never gonna get that belt he’s saving it for his other bum fighter kieth thurman

              Comment

              • Granath
                Contender
                • Dec 2018
                • 455
                • 38
                • 15
                • 15,878

                #37
                Originally posted by Loque-san
                Clear knockdown. It doesn't matter if the punch lands or not or if it lands on the shoulder or the forearm. Ugas threw a punch that touched Porter who fell to the ground. That's a knockdown. Nine referees out of ten at least would have rightfully given Porter an eight count.
                Watch the video I linked and look at Porter's back foot while doing so. It's not a knockdown and at .25 speed it's pretty clear why.

                Comment

                • .!WAR MIKEY!.
                  Banned
                  Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
                  • Aug 2015
                  • 23780
                  • 889
                  • 769
                  • 309,182

                  #38
                  First thread, where people actually talking about the subject at hand. NSB you have shocked me.

                  Friendly bump for more people to discuss who might of missed this thread.

                  Comment

                  • Ajvar
                    Undisputed Champion
                    Platinum Champion - 1,000-5,000 posts
                    • Oct 2016
                    • 1746
                    • 131
                    • 519
                    • 23,245

                    #39
                    Originally posted by W1LL
                    The punch caused him to fall to the ground. Knocked his foot from under him. Was a knockdown. Ugas won. Whoever says any different, you should put them on Ignore and never give them the time of day again.
                    I will put you to ignore.

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    TOP