He may have been stronger, but he didn't land no where close the hurtful punches Gonzalez landed. After the knock down Gonzalez went into beast mode and battered him and was literally punching non-stop while Thai guy wavered and was wore down as the rounds went by, actually running in the final round and docked a point....it's a travesty. There can be no argument about this fight, Gonzalez was robbed. The judges let the blood influence them. Pathetic.
The Controversy is Gonzalez not Jacobs
Collapse
-
Did the WBC or Commision enforce this rule?
Accidental Injuries from Head Butts, Elbows, or other Accidental or Illegal Actions (injury). The following description applies to injuries from not only
head butts and elbows, but from any other accidental or illegal action as well.
a)
Unintentional/accidental injury. When a boxer suffers a cut, abrasion, or excessive swelling due to an unintentional/accidental head butt, elbow, etc.
If the bout continues:
• A point will be deducted from the uninjured boxer. This point deduction will compensate the advantages acquired by the uninjured boxer.
Note: I don't believe in such a rule being applied but I point this out on general principle of fairness to all fighters equally ; I know Cuadras benefited from this rule by the WBC vs. Rungvisai in having a point deducted after he suffered a cut due to a headbutt, if they went by these rules according to the WBC there was a failure on the part of the ref or WBC supervisor.
Can someone with more knowledge on this issue speak up? Thought I post this here given the subject.Comment
-
He may have been stronger, but he didn't land no where close the hurtful punches Gonzalez landed. After the knock down Gonzalez went into beast mode and battered him and was literally punching non-stop while Thai guy wavered and was wore down as the rounds went by, actually running in the final round and docked a point....it's a travesty. There can be no argument about this fight, Gonzalez was robbed. The judges let the blood influence them. Pathetic.
Accidental Injuries from Head Butts, Elbows, or other Accidental or Illegal Actions (injury). The following description applies to injuries from not only
head butts and elbows, but from any other accidental or illegal action as well.
a)
Unintentional/accidental injury. When a boxer suffers a cut, abrasion, or excessive swelling due to an unintentional/accidental head butt, elbow, etc.
If the bout continues:
• A point will be deducted from the uninjured boxer. This point deduction will compensate the advantages acquired by the uninjured boxer.
Note: I don't believe in such a rule being applied but I point this out on general principle of fairness to all fighters equally ; I know Cuadras benefited from this rule by the WBC vs. Rungvisai in having a point deducted after he suffered a cut due to a headbutt, if they went by these rules according to the WBC there was a failure on the part of the ref or WBC supervisor.
Can someone with more knowledge on this issue speak up? Thought I post this here given the subject.Comment
-
@ 8.12
Rules for a championship fight below:
I conclude Carlos Cuadras and the same Rungvisai had this rule applied when he fought him -- there was a clash of heads and before the opening bell in the following round they took a point to even the playing field but in the case of Roman Gonzalez no such rule was enforced.Comment
-
All I know is that how do you lose a fight when you out punch, out land, out percentage another fighter? Roman outside of a few times in the fight controlled the fight. And for proof:
But maybe I don't know **** about boxing?Comment
-
My issue is : According to the WBC Rungivsai should of got a point deducted right AFTER the accidental head clash BUT as we all know it went un-reinforced below I submit proof. Note its in Spanish and Suliman sounds very shady and even addresses it before the reporter even questions him about it ; but what even more su****ions is that he puts blame on as he puts it 'THEY' however 'THEY' according to the WBC manual is their very own supervisor!
@ 8.12
Rules for a championship fight below:
I conclude Carlos Cuadras and the same Rungvisai had this rule applied when he fought him -- there was a clash of heads and before the opening bell in the following round they took a point to even the playing field but in the case of Roman Gonzalez no such rule was enforced.Comment
-
If you arent throwing punches, how do you win rounds? lolComment
-
I mean I hate when it comes to that -- but what else but corruption or incompetence can be the reason? lastly I think the fact that he was the consensus P4P should of afforded him fair supervision under their own rules considering Carlos Cuadras got the red-carpet treatment. Sadly this will keep the man for now earning the purses hes worked so hard to achieve without ever taking a break in the sport...those purses at these weights may not go far throughout retirement.Comment
Comment