The Controversy is Gonzalez not Jacobs

Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • iamboxing
    ******a facking game
    Super Champion - 5,000-10,000 posts
    • Dec 2016
    • 6421
    • 672
    • 760
    • 29,458

    #41
    Originally posted by soul_survivor
    I think another point should have been taken away from the headbutts. It was excesisve and beyond accidental.

    And yeah, Gonzalez was clearly the superior fighter in there, whereas the other other was a physical trheat, strong enough to push RG back and grab him and out muscle him but pushing, headbutts and hugs dont win fights. Punches do.

    RG threw more and landed more.
    He may have been stronger, but he didn't land no where close the hurtful punches Gonzalez landed. After the knock down Gonzalez went into beast mode and battered him and was literally punching non-stop while Thai guy wavered and was wore down as the rounds went by, actually running in the final round and docked a point....it's a travesty. There can be no argument about this fight, Gonzalez was robbed. The judges let the blood influence them. Pathetic.

    Comment

    • 1hourRun
      SQUAD-UP!
      Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
      • Dec 2010
      • 20526
      • 2,789
      • 2,336
      • 140,312

      #42
      Did the WBC or Commision enforce this rule?

      Accidental Injuries from Head Butts, Elbows, or other Accidental or Illegal Actions (injury). The following description applies to injuries from not only
      head butts and elbows, but from any other accidental or illegal action as well.


      a)
      Unintentional/accidental injury. When a boxer suffers a cut, abrasion, or excessive swelling due to an unintentional/accidental head butt, elbow, etc.


      If the bout continues:
      • A point will be deducted from the uninjured boxer. This point deduction will compensate the advantages acquired by the uninjured boxer.



      Note: I don't believe in such a rule being applied but I point this out on general principle of fairness to all fighters equally ; I know Cuadras benefited from this rule by the WBC vs. Rungvisai in having a point deducted after he suffered a cut due to a headbutt, if they went by these rules according to the WBC there was a failure on the part of the ref or WBC supervisor.

      Can someone with more knowledge on this issue speak up? Thought I post this here given the subject.

      Comment

      • soul_survivor
        LOL @ Ali-Holmes
        Unified Champion - 10,00-20,000 posts
        • Jun 2013
        • 18949
        • 623
        • 473
        • 65,236

        #43
        Originally posted by iamboxing
        He may have been stronger, but he didn't land no where close the hurtful punches Gonzalez landed. After the knock down Gonzalez went into beast mode and battered him and was literally punching non-stop while Thai guy wavered and was wore down as the rounds went by, actually running in the final round and docked a point....it's a travesty. There can be no argument about this fight, Gonzalez was robbed. The judges let the blood influence them. Pathetic.
        yeah agreed. In all honesty, take away the blood and the fight wasnt all that close. 8-4

        Originally posted by 1hourRun
        Accidental Injuries from Head Butts, Elbows, or other Accidental or Illegal Actions (injury). The following description applies to injuries from not only
        head butts and elbows, but from any other accidental or illegal action as well.


        a)
        Unintentional/accidental injury. When a boxer suffers a cut, abrasion, or excessive swelling due to an unintentional/accidental head butt, elbow, etc.


        If the bout continues:
        • A point will be deducted from the uninjured boxer. This point deduction will compensate the advantages acquired by the uninjured boxer.



        Note: I don't believe in such a rule being applied but I point this out on general principle of fairness to all fighters equally ; I know Cuadras benefited from this rule by the WBC vs. Rungvisai in having a point deducted after he suffered a cut due to a headbutt, if they went by these rules according to the WBC there was a failure on the part of the ref or WBC supervisor.

        Can someone with more knowledge on this issue speak up? Thought I post this here given the subject.
        What are you asking? Because the Thai guy was docked a point yet he continued using elbows and head butts which imo should have docked him another point.

        Comment

        • 1hourRun
          SQUAD-UP!
          Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
          • Dec 2010
          • 20526
          • 2,789
          • 2,336
          • 140,312

          #44
          Originally posted by soul_survivor
          yeah agreed. In all honesty, take away the blood and the fight wasnt all that close. 8-4



          What are you asking? Because the Thai guy was docked a point yet he continued using elbows and head butts which imo should have docked him another point.
          My issue is : According to the WBC Rungivsai should of got a point deducted right AFTER the accidental head clash BUT as we all know it went un-reinforced below I submit proof. Note its in Spanish and Suliman sounds very shady and even addresses it before the reporter even questions him about it ; but what even more su****ions is that he puts blame on as he puts it 'THEY' however 'THEY' according to the WBC manual is their very own supervisor!


          @ 8.12

          Rules for a championship fight below:


          I conclude Carlos Cuadras and the same Rungvisai had this rule applied when he fought him -- there was a clash of heads and before the opening bell in the following round they took a point to even the playing field but in the case of Roman Gonzalez no such rule was enforced.

          Comment

          • Suavecito80
            Undisputed Champion
            Platinum Champion - 1,000-5,000 posts
            • Jul 2009
            • 2905
            • 106
            • 75
            • 10,549

            #45
            All I know is that how do you lose a fight when you out punch, out land, out percentage another fighter? Roman outside of a few times in the fight controlled the fight. And for proof:





            But maybe I don't know **** about boxing?

            Comment

            • soul_survivor
              LOL @ Ali-Holmes
              Unified Champion - 10,00-20,000 posts
              • Jun 2013
              • 18949
              • 623
              • 473
              • 65,236

              #46
              Originally posted by 1hourRun
              My issue is : According to the WBC Rungivsai should of got a point deducted right AFTER the accidental head clash BUT as we all know it went un-reinforced below I submit proof. Note its in Spanish and Suliman sounds very shady and even addresses it before the reporter even questions him about it ; but what even more su****ions is that he puts blame on as he puts it 'THEY' however 'THEY' according to the WBC manual is their very own supervisor!


              @ 8.12

              Rules for a championship fight below:


              I conclude Carlos Cuadras and the same Rungvisai had this rule applied when he fought him -- there was a clash of heads and before the opening bell in the following round they took a point to even the playing field but in the case of Roman Gonzalez no such rule was enforced.
              Ok and yeah, there should have been a point taken away from him instantly according to the WBCs own rules. It didn't and there is definitely something wrong with that. Then again, RG isnt Mexican so...

              Comment

              • soul_survivor
                LOL @ Ali-Holmes
                Unified Champion - 10,00-20,000 posts
                • Jun 2013
                • 18949
                • 623
                • 473
                • 65,236

                #47
                Originally posted by Suavecito80
                All I know is that how do you lose a fight when you out punch, out land, out percentage another fighter? Roman outside of a few times in the fight controlled the fight. And for proof:





                But maybe I don't know **** about boxing?
                In all honesty, we dont even need the punch stats to see that Gonzalez won. The Thai kept walking in, bareky throwing punches and then he would lunge with his head and grab onto either side of RG and then repeat the pattern.

                If you arent throwing punches, how do you win rounds? lol

                Comment

                • 1hourRun
                  SQUAD-UP!
                  Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
                  • Dec 2010
                  • 20526
                  • 2,789
                  • 2,336
                  • 140,312

                  #48
                  Originally posted by soul_survivor
                  Ok and yeah, there should have been a point taken away from him instantly according to the WBCs own rules. It didn't and there is definitely something wrong with that. Then again, RG isnt Mexican so...
                  I mean I hate when it comes to that -- but what else but corruption or incompetence can be the reason? lastly I think the fact that he was the consensus P4P should of afforded him fair supervision under their own rules considering Carlos Cuadras got the red-carpet treatment. Sadly this will keep the man for now earning the purses hes worked so hard to achieve without ever taking a break in the sport...those purses at these weights may not go far throughout retirement.

                  Comment

                  • MDPopescu
                    Undisputed Champion
                    Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
                    • Oct 2012
                    • 24153
                    • 1,504
                    • 2,009
                    • 4,138,611

                    #49
                    ... At the beginning of the 12th, I posted (on a thread here) that the Thai may get a 114-112 decision on the scorecards...

                    Comment

                    • PK3434
                      Undisputed Champion
                      Platinum Champion - 1,000-5,000 posts
                      • Oct 2014
                      • 2087
                      • 76
                      • 0
                      • 8,831

                      #50
                      I feel the same way. Jacobs did well but Golovkin won more rounds.

                      But I feel bad for Chocolatito. He was robbed and he got the **** beat out of him. Those two things usually don't go together but in this case they do.

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      TOP