Mauricio Lara lost the World Boxing Association (WBA) featherweight belt after failing to make weight on Friday. However, the Mexican will step into the ring to face Leigh Wood this Saturday but only the Brit will have the option to win the crown. (photos by Mark Robinson)
As the WBA rules dictate in their section “rules about the official weigh-in”, number 6 “If the champion does not make the limit weight of the division after the two (2) additional hours granted, he/she will lose the title. If the challenger makes the weight and wins the bout, he shall be declared champion. If the champion who did not make the weight is the winner of the bout, the title will be declared vacant.”
In this case, Lara weighed in at 129.8 lbs on the scales, considerably above the 126 weight regulations. Wood weighed in at 125.9 lbs and will be the only one with the option to fight for the championship.
Lara and Wood fought in February of this year and the bout ended with a great knockout by the former. Now they will step into the ring for a rematch that promises to be full of excitement.
ADD COMMENT VIEW COMMENTS (5)