No announcement yet.

Finger pain boxing

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Finger pain boxing

So ever since Ive started boxing ive had this real bad finger pain in all my fingers, near to the nails, but not so much knuckle pain and its only now that im a bit concerned about it. My punching technique isnt bad but my training gloves are really crap, £12 lonsdale gloves, the cheapest i could find and theyre the only gloves ive ever trained with. Even if i'm not tired, my fingers make me have to lower my output and power once they start hurting. Is it the gloves that are doing this to my fingers somehow and what could i do to combat this pain?

And also, Could this cause long term damage? I've been boxing for 2 years with this finger pain

take the top off your punching bag and take all the stuffing out of it, and then put stuffing in a bunch of small plastic grocery bags and double tie those. you'll end up with about 1/3rd less stuffing when it's all said and done, and your punches will sink into the bag much better.

Comment

Yeah I cant do that since i usually train at the gym

Comment

Wrap hands better or use better gloves. They sell some 180s

Comment

Firstly go see a doc, understand how your fingers are. So that no long term damage is caused. Then you can buy a pair of decent gloves that would protect your fingers in a better way.

Comment

Yea, you can create long-term damage. Obvious, get some good gloves. Also, re-evaluate your form. I used to get pinger pain when I;
            -punched with my whole fist instead of focusing the knuckles on the target.
            -wore gloves that were bulky in the fingers and not the knuckles, causing all the impact to push down against the fingers repeatedly.

Comment

Originally posted by Mokib View Post