Bob Papa kept saying Berto got "dropped"

Collapse
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts
  • dnfisher
    Up and Comer
    Interim Champion - 1-100 posts
    • Dec 2007
    • 95
    • 0
    • 0
    • 6,153

    #1

    Bob Papa kept saying Berto got "dropped"

    in the first round, but HE DIDN'T!

    I wanted to throw something at the TV. Please tell me other people were bothered by this and think Papa is a jackass.
  • T-97
    BuyTheTicketTakeTheRide
    Unified Champion - 10,00-20,000 posts
    • Nov 2007
    • 14808
    • 566
    • 628
    • 22,958

    #2
    Berto was arguably kept up by the ropes, so some refs may have counted it as a KD.

    Comment

    • Gareth Ivanovic
      Bale, Bale, Bale
      Unified Champion - 10,00-20,000 posts
      • Mar 2007
      • 10113
      • 295
      • 597
      • 20,073

      #3
      I like Papas, but I was wondering why he was saying that too. He should have said Collazo hurt Berto and got him off balance. Not knocked down.

      Comment

      • LRcie03
        Contender
        Silver Champion - 100-500 posts
        • Sep 2008
        • 453
        • 26
        • 111
        • 6,953

        #4
        Originally posted by T-97
        Berto was arguably kept up by the ropes, so some refs may have counted it as a KD.
        Yes, some refs would have counted that as a knockdown, you are right. But in this fight the ref did not, so Berto did not automatically lose a point. He later rallied in the round and arguably won it.

        Between Papa saying that Berto was dropped in the first and Lederman's card, it made me and maybe other HBO viewers believe that Berto clearly lost the fight, when in reality it was MUCH closer.
        Last edited by LRcie03; 01-18-2009, 01:53 PM.

        Comment

        • AntDawg
          Undisputed Champion
          Platinum Champion - 1,000-5,000 posts
          • Aug 2008
          • 1771
          • 59
          • 48
          • 8,543

          #5
          Yea that was getting on my nerves with him saying that lol. He also kept saying that after he got knocked down he railed back to make it a 10-9 round like wtf?

          Comment

          • Dorian
            The P4P King
            Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
            • Nov 2005
            • 26501
            • 1,652
            • 2,199
            • 42,879

            #6
            He was more off balance then anything, Yes he was stunned but he was more off balance then anything.

            Comment

            • tjose385
              Contender
              Silver Champion - 100-500 posts
              • Oct 2008
              • 267
              • 2
              • 0
              • 6,340

              #7
              Originally posted by dnfisher
              in the first round, but HE DIDN'T!

              I wanted to throw something at the TV. Please tell me other people were bothered by this and think Papa is a jackass.
              lol.............I was yelling at the television. Im surprised that none of them corrected im on that.

              Comment

              • StillUnknown
                Undisputed Champion
                Platinum Champion - 1,000-5,000 posts
                • Sep 2008
                • 1302
                • 29
                • 3
                • 7,774

                #8
                Papa was seeing ****. the ref could've ruled it a knockdown, but he didn't. doesnt matter how many times Papa said it happened. somebody should've informed him during the telecast

                Comment

                • Pullcounter
                  no guts no glory
                  Franchise Champion - 20,000+ posts
                  • Jan 2004
                  • 42582
                  • 549
                  • 191
                  • 49,739

                  #9
                  Originally posted by Dorian
                  He was more off balance then anything, Yes he was stunned but he was more off balance then anything.
                  I thought he was hurt more than off balance and the ropes kept him up

                  Comment

                  • KnuckleUp
                    Contender
                    Silver Champion - 100-500 posts
                    • Mar 2008
                    • 174
                    • 9
                    • 0
                    • 6,261

                    #10
                    Yeah especially when he said it again to Lenox Lewis later on the fight I thought for sure he would get corrected but he didnt

                    Comment

                    Working...
                    TOP