Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

PLEASE ANSWER! Is it a good idea to lead with a long range left hook VS a southpaw?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• PLEASE ANSWER! Is it a good idea to lead with a long range left hook VS a southpaw?

So there is a nice gap for the right cross the go to punch against southpaws.

The jab is blocked by their lead hand.

But theres a nice little opening for a long range left hook.

Ive been told a long range left hook will beat a straight right to the mark (a mid range left hook wont because its path is too circular) so it may beat the right cross (or left cross for southpaws) to the mark.

The only counter that will beat it is a jab so it seems kinda safe.

What do you think of this as a shot to set up the straight right, since the jab is so easily countered and they will be expecting a straight right lead all night.

Im no expert so can you tell me the flaws in leading with a long hook? Or is it actually a good idea?

Originally posted by AlexKid View Post

Ive been told a long range left hook will beat a straight right to the mark (a mid range left hook wont because its path is too circular) so it may beat the right cross (or left cross for southpaws) to the mark.

What do you think of this as a shot to set up the straight right, since the jab is so easily countered and they will be expecting a straight right lead all night.

Im no expert so can you tell me the flaws in leading with a long hook? Or is it actually a good idea?

I tended to get clipped more from left hooks in close to be honest when in the southpaw stance. Attacking with a long left hook against a southpaw is a bit risky unless you are extremely fast. Too easy to telegraph and counter.

Comment

You will be open to their straight left. Use the left hook to counter their straight left hand instead or better yet have it follow your own straight right.

Comment

Originally posted by TBear View Post