By Doug Fischer
The third-round technical stoppage that James Toney scored over Hasim Rahman two weeks ago was changed to a No Decision by the California State Athletic Commission, according to a press release distributed by the CSAC (the agency that regulates boxing in California) today.
An accidental clash of heads in the third round of the Fox Sports Net-televised heavyweight bout from Temecula, California resulted in a cut above Rahman's left eye. In-between rounds, the former heavyweight champ told the ringside physician that he could not see and the bout was stopped on the assumption that Rahman had willingly retired on his stool, thus resulting in the TKO victory for Toney.
However, according to the Unified Rules of Boxing that are followed by all U.S. jurisdictions a bout that is stopped before four completed rounds due to an accidental headbutt or foul is automatically ruled a No Decision.
This is the statement from the CSAC:
"The original decision of the James Toney v. Hasim Rahman bout that took place on July 16, 2008 in Temecula, California was a Technical Knockout win for Mr. Toney. Mr. Rahman subsequently appealed the decision. His appeal met the rule requirements.
After reviewing all available facts, the original decision is changed to a No Decision."
The ruling erases the win from Toney's record and the loss from Rahman's ledger.