There was more than enough controversy on Saturday night at the Mandalay Bay in Las Vegas.
The first stint of controversy of the night, WBA super bantamweight champion Guillermo Rigondeaux retained his world title with a first round knockout of undefeated mandatory challenger Moises Flores.
But there was one problem, Rigondeaux's knockout punch had clearly come after the bell as referee Vic Drakulich was attempting to separate both boxers.
Once he was cracked to the chin, Flores went down like a ton of bricks and the Drakulich waved off the fight.
It appeared that Flores had a delayed reaction and may have oversold the punch a bit, with the hope that Rigondeaux would get disqualified.
But that didn't happen. After about 10 minutes of confusion and officials speaking with each other, the outcome was announced as a knockout win for Rigondeaux.
On Sunday morning - Bob Bennett, the executive director of the Nevada State Athletic Commission - reviewed a tape of the fight - and he fully agrees that Rigondeaux threw and landed the punch after the bell.
Now the process will begin where the Nevada officials will look to overturn the knockout victory and turn it into a no-decision. If that happens, Flores will regain his undefeated record - and the WBA will likely order a rematch.
“So it will go to the (attorney general’s) office, we’ll review it and will present it to chairman Anthony Marnell III and a couple of commissioners to see if we want to overturn that ruling. The referee (Vic Drakulich) has recommended a no-decision based on the fact that that punch was after the bell and was not intentional. It was an unintentional punch," Bennett told USA Today.
“I’m working today, I’ll meet with the attorneys tomorrow, I’ll meet with Chairman Marnell (Monday) and we’ll do our best to expedite the matter because only the commission can vote to overturn it. By law we have to give a three-day working window to the public for a public hearing. If all goes well we’ll have a hearing on Friday.”