By Miguel Rivera

Floyd Mayweather Jr. (49-0, 26KOs) retired last September after winning his final career bout with a twelve round unanimous decision over Andre Berto at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas.

At the time of his retirement,  Mayweather was the reigning world champion of the World Boxing Council and the World Boxing Association at welterweight and junior middleweight.

Mayweather has already been removed from the WBC title positions during the year-end convention held by the sanctioning body. The WBA held their annual convention as well, but Mayweather has remained as the "super" champion of both divisions. The WBA also has "regular" champion at each weight, with Keith "One Time" Thurman holding that version of the WBA title at 147 and Erislandy Lara holding the belt at 154.

The new WBA President, Gilberto Mendoza Jr., says Mayweather will be removed from those titles by the end of the month.

"It is a matter of formality, in late January [Mayweather] will not be [the champion]," Mendoza told ESPN Deportes.

Once Mayweather is removed, Lara could be elevated to "super" champion and interim champion Jack Culcay might become the "regular" champ. At welterweight, Thurman might become the "super" champion and interim-holder  David Avanseyan will claim the "regular" belt position.