need help from fighters/trainers

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need help from fighters/trainers

Hi guys first post .

Im a Amateur featherweight. My problem is that I'm very short (around 5.38 feet) so I have some trouble getting close to the other fighter.

Just wondering if you guys have some tips on what to do.
    I was thinking, because Im so short it's hard for me to jab him away instead I thought maybe I should dodge his punch and dash in under him. But I do now know how good that plan actully is.
    And do you guys think i should work on my strenght alot? Or should I work more on my speed.

Thx for any reply .

Originally posted by zip
    Hi guys first post .

Im a Amateur featherweight. My problem is that I'm very short (around 5.38 feet) so I have some trouble getting close to the other fighter.

Just wondering if you guys have some tips on what to do.
    I was thinking, because Im so short it's hard for me to jab him away instead I thought maybe I should dodge his punch and dash in under him. But I do now know how good that plan actully is.
    And do you guys think i should work on my strenght alot? Or should I work more on my speed.

Thx for any reply .
    A height disadvantage can be a bit tricky but as long as you are keeping your boxing skills intact and not going to war, I think you should be fine.

Your best bet would to keep your punches straight and if you can do a bit of counter punching and NO LOOPING PUNCHES, One thing to your advantage would be able to pivot yourself and come up from under (understand that?) and throw a uppercut....

WORK THAT BODY! But keep your punches straight.

Comment

THX!

yes i got to work on my uppercuts.
      but i dont know what looping punches are. You see im from sweden so im not 100% sure of all the terms used.

Comment

Originally posted by zip
        THX!

yes i got to work on my uppercuts.