Collapse
No announcement yet.

Who makes emulation boxes around here?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Who makes emulation boxes around here?

I've made a few myself on SBC's but recently I've been working on my first windows based build.

So far I have successfully swapped the boot up and logon screens, and the PC is booting directly into EmulationStation which is all done up with Retroarch and stand alones, all running perfectly, but, I can't get ES to shutdown the PC.

It just closes the program and then I have to shutdown the PC. I've change the start button to a space invader so shutdown is a tiny bit more game-ish but having to do a classic PC shutdown, putting down the controller and grabbing the mouse, kind of breaks the whole game machine feel I was going for.

Also, this is my first time doing a "game machine" kind of build. I usually do themes or genres. Like a Horror themed ES featuring nothing but Horror games, music, and films on a RPi inside a demon skull case. Pokemon theme in a pokeball. Sci-Fi theme in a Millenium Falcon or USS Enterprise. You get the picture.

For a general and all inclusive game machine design I am kind of stumped. It's got everything from the very early Ataris and Amigas, and Spectrum up to as modern as Wii in it. PC Games run the whole gambit, Dosbox to modern games on Steam. It would be hard to be sure of it, but I think I have the english catalog for all those consoles. Hacks and translations included as best I could.

Everyone has Kodi running on their system, I don't know what's so hard about using any old media player. It's a PC, it can play any video or music file right out of ES because ES is just a frontend. If it can do it without ES it can do it through ES...So yeah, Netflix, Hulu, Youtube, Spotify, VLC, MP Classic, whatever. What I have loaded is all video games centered...like the FF movie, the SF movie, the Sonic shows, that sort of nonsense, but it can play whatever.