No announcement yet.

Sparring against a girl

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sparring against a girl

I am one for equality and am actually a big fan of women's boxing but when in training your coach tells you to spar against a girl, what do you do?

The obvious thing to do is do as your coach tells you duhh?? but I just couldn't bring myself to actually try when I went against her. Luckily before I went against her someone else had and I noticed they were rarely hitting her on purpose.

The first time I went against her I wasn't even jabbing back and I really hope that this didn't upset her so the second time we went I was sending jabs but very light ones, still, I wasn't sending them as much as I could have.

I'm new to boxing, started in May so naturally I'm in the bottom part of the group when it comes to skill etc, this is what makes it worse I don't want my coach to actually think she's better. He's obviously seen me spar against other people but I've not exactly won any of my sparring bouts as I've always been fighting people that have much more experience (which I love) I've only ever came close to winning one which was my latest practice.

I feel like a dick and that I'm discriminating her and it's the last thing I want to do but at the same time I would feel like more of a dick if one of my jabs knocked her down.

Fyi, the whole thing is for charity, it isn't at a highly competitive level so I don't have the mind set of 'she's here to one day be a champion, she should be able to take a punch like the guys'.

Unsure on what to do. I've thought about talking about it to my coach but then I could look sexist, the same thing with talking to her, I would probably end up wording it wrong and make the whole situation even more awkward.
    Last edited by RossyJames; 08-08-2019, 12:22 AM.

What kind of gym are you in. I've never been asked to or sparred a female at a gym. Helped out and worked with females but have never sparred one

Comment