Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Advice for toughening myself for hard sparring?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice for toughening myself for hard sparring?

I've been training for a few months and copped a couple of smashings in sparring. I've got a decent base level of fitness, but I find that when I get in there with the more experienced boys, the fighters that I get a high level of anxiety beforehand and lock up a bit when they hit me with some good intense shots. I'm not complaining or looking for sympathy, I'm just asking for some advice please from more experienced people. How can I toughen myself up so I don't defeat my own mind and clam up when I'm in there? I asked my mate that is taller and heavier than me by about 15-20 kilos for sparring tomorrow, I want to go around 5 solid rounds with him and see if I can bang it out.

Any advice on how I can just toughen up mentally and stop being intimidated by bigger and more experienced guys? I've been told I have some talent for the sport so I'd like to be a bit more serious about it. Just putting it out there and seeing what people think. I get a bit of inspiration from reading that Fenech used to have wars in the gym with Jeff Harding, and he was a lot bigger than Fenech. Would never compare myself to those guys at all but not sure what to believe, I've read mixed opinions online, some say you should spar the bigger guys and some say don't spar bigger guys, you've got nothing to prove to people twice your weight.

No idea what to believe, there are so many opinions in this sport.