Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sparring before being taught how to box?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sparring before being taught how to box?

Okay so I posted a question on here a while back titled "Boxing gym won't teach me how to box and it's getting really disheartening?"
    I voiced my concerns to the coach who does the boxfit class and was told me the times for actual boxing.
    He then warned me that I'll "be thrown in the deep end".

I attended the sparring sessions just today and as expected I wasn't that good. I found it difficult to actually hit my opponents, and got knocked about quite a bit. I also tired out quickly due to having to move fast, despite being fit enough for the hour-long boxfit class.

I did do a bit of pad work to warm up with, before the sparring. However, I'm finding that's the problem. I've been attending boxfit classes for the past 4 months, but have done very little in the way of actual training, technique, footwork, etc.

Though the pro who runs the gym told me, the more I spar the better i'd get. And the other coach who I done the pad work with told me he'd teach me to box next week.

I don't want to give up just because of what happened because obviously I'm inexperienced and wasn't expecting to be that good during early days, but should I be focusing more on pad work and learning technique before I spar like today?

It's tough to find a coach that takes you seriously. AT the end of the day its up to you to improve by doing the basic things you can learn about by using google and youtube. Pushups, pullups, running, bag work, technique, shadow boxing, these are things you can learn on your own.