Anthony Joshua reveals sparring 'war' with Tyson Fury

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anthony Joshua reveals sparring 'war' with Tyson Fury

http://www.skysports.com/boxing/news...TZnwJ7sCn9c19T

"This was early on when I was an amateur, so I didn't even know who Tyson Fury was," Joshua told Sky Sports.

"This was the time when he was fighting John McDermott, so he was in London at the time, come down from Manchester.

"I remember reading that Tyson Fury is going around different gyms sparring and if anyone can knock him out, they get to keep his Rolex. If you know me, I'm hungry. I was hungrier back then. Those assets and stuff were so far out of reach to me.

"I remember him popping in the gym and then coach says: 'All right Josh, you're sparring.' In the boxing gym, there is no word called 'no'.

"I just got my head guard on, gum shield in, and we just cracked on. Me and him just had a straight war. What I learned about Fury is, we've got the same heart. We're both fighting people and we go to war.

"I didn't manage to knock him out. We both hit each other with some big shots, powerful shots.

"Years ago he predicted 'watch out for the kid, he'll be heavyweight champion of the world one day' and he got his prediction right."

what level was fury when he said Josh would be champ one day? was he even british champ, European champ or certainly not world champ?

Comment

I seem to remember Fury saying Joshua gave him a beating

Comment

Originally posted by hugh grant View Post
        what level was fury when he said Josh would be champ one day? was he even british champ, European champ or certainly not world champ?
        Depending which McDermott fight it was either just before Fury 'won' (I use the term loosely for this fight) the English belt, or just before he won the British.

If it was before the 1st Mcdermott fight then Fury was well out of shape and went on to look like crap in the fight

Comment

Originally posted by Daddy T View Post