No announcement yet.

Alternatives to running,jumping,and squating

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Alternatives to running,jumping,and squating

I have always wanted to learn to box and finally started learning about a year ago. I started training hard around January of this year and started having pain after jogging for conditioning in my left hip. I dislocated my hip in a car wreck in 2012, so i figured it was something that had to with that. I went to an orthopedic doctor and he gave me a diagnosis of a torn labrum in my hip. He advised me to keep trying to box but to avoid running,jumping, and heavy weight exercises with my legs. I got a second opinion and this doctor told me that I had arthritis in both hip bust did not have a torn larbrum, he advised me to not run,jump, or lift heavy weights with my legs. I can still do leg curls, dumbbell lunges, calf raises .and leg extensions leg extensions if i do not go all the way ie bringing my kness up to high. I understand Jumping rope and jogging, and making your legs stronger by lunges and other leg exercises are huge parts of training for boxing. I watched an interview with Deontay Wilder where he said that he does not run or jog. I also read about a South American boxer that did not run or jog but swam and used a stair climber machine, this gave me lots of hope. I am really wanting to keep in some amateur boxing matched. I am only 27. Would appreciate any input on this matter. Thanks

A lot of boxers dont run or jog. I believe Mayweather did little to no road work for the bulk of his career and I don't think he squatted either. He built his stamina with those crazy long workouts.

Comment

There is loads of footage of Mayweather doing road work. It's a staple of boxing training.

Comment