Collapse
No announcement yet.

What to do with Achilles tendons pain?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What to do with Achilles tendons pain?

Hey people,

a beginner here. I was sick last couple of days, spent most of the time in bed with flu so I haven't been in the gym for too long. However, when I went out of the flat for the first time this morning, my Achilles tendons hurt -- not extremely but still... First of all, I don't get it because after training I don't usually feel pain there and now this is after a couple of days of literally no activity. I wanted to go to the gym tomorrow or the day after but with this pain, I'm not sure if I'll be able to do that which pisses me off as I already missed a lot because of the flu.

Have you got any ideas on what might have gone wrong or perhaps tips what to do to be able to train?

Thanks in advance,
    J.

Hi there, I've had achilles tendonitis on both sides to an acute level in the past. Hopefully you just have a minor injury, but if pinching the achilles tendon is pretty painful then you need to take care.

The trick to prevent and/or recover from this nasty affliction is to practice eccentric heel drops several times a day with straight leg and bent knees.

I'm sure Google or you tube will have a good instructional video. If you search 'eccentric exercises for achilles tendinopathy' I'm sure you'll be on the right path......

Comment

Take it light, listen to your body, and it the pain continues, please see a doctor. Achilles injuries can be serious and long-term if not properly identified and treated

Comment