Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

When did You reach your Full Punching Power Potential (Ceiling)

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• When did You reach your Full Punching Power Potential (Ceiling)

Hello,

I am still pretty fresh to boxing. I've been boxing for a few months now including some strength conditioning.
    I was curious and interested to know when:

*You reached your max punching power potential (ceiling) Was in it a matter or weeks, months, years?

*How much did your power improve after starting boxing?

I know that proper technique has a huge factor in this, but I want to hear your guys' experience!

Thanks!
    Last edited by DespicableMi; 07-24-2017, 01:47 PM. Reason: Wrong Section

Originally posted by DespicableMi View Post
    Hello,

I am still pretty fresh to boxing. I've been boxing for a few months now including some strength conditioning.
    I was curious and interested to know when:

*You reached your max punching power potential (ceiling) Was in it a matter or weeks, months, years?

*How much did your power improve after starting boxing?

I know that proper technique has a huge factor in this, but I want to hear your guys' experience!

Thanks!

Once you get your technique right you get a massive power boost. That will take years.
    The more efficient your technique is the more power you can generate without packing up muscle mass.

Comment

I probably punch harder now but then I'm in a higher weight category than 5 years ago so mass needs to be factored in.
      Very hard question to judge, unless you are a heavyweight throughout your boxing training, fighters go up and down in weight (I've gone as low as 150 when I was young as I took a fight that had good potential and I've fought as high as 164) I've never fought pro, just at semi pro level, so weight has fluctuated more and you tend to have more pre agreed catch weights to make fights more competitive/happen

Comment