Someone please help me

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Someone please help me

I'm a beginner and I have lots of questions after my sparring
    1. Lead hooks. Should you throw then palm down, facing you, or at an angle? When I try to straighten my elbow before throwing, it slows me down. Do the elbows have to be perfectly straight every time?
    2. What about uppercuts, should they be thrown only straight up or would it be unnatural to throw from different angles?
    3. The same way you put your hips into a lead hook and uppercut (learned at the gym), starting from the hips, what about the back hand hooks, uppercuts, and straight punches. Do you start the momentum by throwing your hips first, or is the back hand and foot different? When I do it, my hips and feet naturally turn when I throw my right hand in any punch. And also the back hand hook, palm facing you or down for hooks?
    Last edited by Mm34; 06-29-2018, 07:13 PM.

are you currently training in a gym? trainer?

what weight class?

Comment

Any time you have a question just ask your coach.

Comment

I'm a beginner and I have lots of questions after my sparring
        1. Lead hooks. Should you throw then palm down, facing you, or at an angle? When I try to straighten my elbow before throwing, it slows me down. Do the elbows have to be perfectly straight every time?

ANGLE, GIVES MORE TORQUE

2. What about uppercuts, should they be thrown only straight up or would it be unnatural to throw from different angles?

STRAIGHT UP AS AN ANGLE IS LIKELY TO DECREASE THE SPEED OF THE PUNCH UNLESS YOU PRACTICE ANGLES