No announcement yet.

Beginner in sparring REAL TROUBLE

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Beginner in sparring REAL TROUBLE

So i've been sparring for maybe 2-3 months and I don't feel I've got much better. I'm sparring 1-2 hours most weeks and its really no gone well. My main problem is that I can never throw my right hand the way I want to. Which means sparring is typically just me jabbing about, no combinations, barely a one two. I then ask the trainer for help he watches me on the heavy bag and says i look great, do that when sparring, but its just no the same.
    Get my ass kicked basically every single week. Its sooooooo frustrating.

I'm no really looking for tips, just maybe similar experiences or something.

TBH anything is appreciated

How long are you boxing??
    It will come in time,your over thinking what your doing,
    Now you will always be like "ah fck I could of hit him their" and all that, but as for letting your hands go, the more confident you become the more you will be throwing...
    Bag work is fairly useless (in my opinion anyway). Get your trainer to do more pad work with you.

Don't worry, you just need to be self aware that you are not throwing that much, will all come in time, take the chance and leave them go.

Comment

Awesome picture with rig

Always had a punching bag so i've always been able to punch good, or so i thought, but been going to classes for boxing for 6 months and sparring for 2-3.
      Its just plain annoying man never feel like i can pull the trigger, and when i do just off balance and feels like a weak punch.

I get thrown in with folk who for the most part are a lot better and stronger. Some take it too easy and i'm still hesitant about putting punches together, Some go too hard and just plain fck me up.
      sitting here typing with a big red lump on my nose

Comment

yeah

Record yourself and watching the tape will help a lot.

Comment

Originally posted by deveed411 View Post