No announcement yet.

Why is Joe Louis Rated so Highly?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why is Joe Louis Rated so Highly?

I'm not saying he shouldn't be, but I'm curious as to the opinions of various members on this site, especially those who know boxing and are old enough to have seen guys like Ali and so on fight. Why is Joe Louis often ranked as a top 10 ATG and in most cases as the second best heavyweight ever?

I won't pretend I'm an expert on his resume, but he has a lot of good names from that time period and did set the record for most defenses of the HW title.

Just as a boxing fan watching, he was a tremendous offensive fighter. Technique, variety, balance, moving forward or back, he was a treat to watch. As good an offensive fighter as has ever existed in the HW division.

Comment

One of best right hands in history and one of the best finishers ever

Comment

I'm going to assume that most of us wasn't even born when Joe Louis was fighting so I don't know how this forum will help you. Do your own research, get on Google!

Comment

Originally posted by bojangles1987 View Post
          I won't pretend I'm an expert on his resume, but he has a lot of good names from that time period and did set the record for most defenses of the HW title.

Just as a boxing fan watching, he was a tremendous offensive fighter. Technique, variety, balance, moving forward or back, he was a treat to watch. As good an offensive fighter as has ever existed in the HW division.
          I've been doing a lot of research into Louis lately, because I'm in the process of tweaking my ATG list and my ATG heavyweight list, I've been in two minds about Louis. His heavyweight reign, though long, really lacks quality and lags behind some other top names.