Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Best Martial Art For The Streets is still Boxing...

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Best Martial Art For The Streets is still Boxing...

First of all, I'm a state wrestling champ in high school. so i have that foundation. I've been boxing for about 5 years now.

My work pays for the gym membership and i've always written off the boxing training. i wanted to do something different these days after watching some anderson silva and buakaw fights.

I go with my buddy who wouldn't stop ringing my ears about Muaythai. Cool cool.

I go and after some heavy conditioning drills. i stayed for the advanced class with some light sparring.

Note, I'm not trying to win a fight. when I spar i think of a street scenerio. So I'm not trying to rack up points to impress no judges like a maricon floozy. this ain't no dancing with the stars.

Anyway, i have pretty much no experience with leg kicks and body kicks. Okay we start.... Muaythai stance is squared up. and i'm in my side profile.... i just start teeing off on these guys. Then they started kicking my legs.. i timed them to the point where every time they kicked i grabbed the leg and took them down. Not to mention, them being squared up opened them up to all kinds of counters as they kicked.

I'm just picturing in my head how the hell is this going to work in the streets? as soon as i take them down, the fight is over. it's hammerfists and field goals. They have no guard games.

The head kick is the only valuable tool in street fighting, but you can only throw 1 before the distance is closed and people start grabbing shirts and unloading at point blank. So if you don't KO someone on entry with the headkick, muaythai is pretty much useless imo

Absolutely not. Kicks allow you to keep out of danger and finish your guy real fast. Or, if you prefer, a sprinter's skills do come in handy! After all, the key is to stay alive!

Comment