Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Tall boxers who could fight on the inside?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tall boxers who could fight on the inside?

I've got limited experience boxing - had a few amateur bouts, and a few smoker bouts. I was fairly tall for the weights I fought at 140ish - 160ish @ almost 6'1''

If I was fighting against a limited opponent, I would sometimes weave inside, and plant my head right between his chest and wail away at his body. Then I'd step back, use a left hook to turn him and step to his side and continue using my height to pepper him with 1's, 1-2's, 2-3's, and my favorite combo, the 5-2 (lead uppercut followed by straight right).

But if I was going against a guy faster than me (which was often the case as I was not very quick), I couldn't get my feet positioned on the inside to generate power, and he could always turn his shots over quicker than me.

So I never really learned to be a good inside fighter, and I feel like my height limited me (remember - being short is sometimes a better attribute than being tall; however, it is harder, and takes more skill to inhibit a taller fighter, than vice versa).

Anyway, who are some tall fighters who did manage to effectively use their leverage to be great inside fighters? I know Wladimir used his height very effectively to lean on guys on the inside after tying them up.

But I'm talking actual inside technicians, or even tall guys who could just bang like crazy on the inside.

Paul Williams comes to mind, but as he moved up in weight, and fought more skilled fighters, he got exposed and constantly got caught on the way in.

Diego Corrales and Lennox Lewis

Comment

Paul Williams

Comment

Riddick bowe, First Holyfield fight, Bowes inside game is really on display.

Hopkins was a tall middleweight but still could pinpoint body shots

Comment

Originally posted by bballchump11 View Post
          Diego Corrales and Lennox Lewis