|05-24-2012, 08:55 PM||#1|
In denial about UK refs
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Bonita Springs, FL
Quoted: 0 Post(s)Rep Power: 26
Total Points: 2,209,054,695.41
It looks like he's stepped aside again so Khan can fight Garcia.
Does anyone have any details on what happened? For weeks I heard him saying "Garcia better fight me or else"* etc... then suddenly Garcia is fighting Khan & there's no mention of Ajose.
Did he get a big step aside fee? Is he on a promise to fight the winner? I can't see Khan fighting him.
* - not those exact words but you know what I mean.
|05-24-2012, 09:34 PM||#2|
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quoted: 1 Post(s)Rep Power: 35
Total Points: 37,514,107,787.76
I was under the impression that Garcia was to fight Olusegun if he could not secure a different bout in a certain time period. He said there's no amount he could be paid to step aside.
|05-24-2012, 10:43 PM||#4|
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: North Tulsa, Oklahoma
Quoted: 886 Post(s)Rep Power: 54
Total Points: 100,999,906,108,342,032.00
The sanctioning bodies do what they want.
Hasim Rahman refused to step aside for Povetkin-Huck, but Povetkin didn't get stripped for that Jr WBA strap. Martinez said he wasn't stepping aside for (recent Chavez Jr opponent), but he didn't get stripped either.
Saying that, Khan is probably going to be fighting for his two former titles, so I'm sure whether he gets the WBC title or not isn't that big a deal for him.
If the WBC does strip Garcia, I imagine Olusegun will become the interim champion, and face the winner of Soto-Matthyse for the full title. At least, that would be what happens in an ideal world.
|05-24-2012, 11:31 PM||#5|
Ph.D in the Sweet Science
Join Date: Oct 2009
Quoted: 4348 Post(s)Rep Power: 78
Total Points: 751,562,585,924,074,209,280.00
The WBC's rules allow for a title unification to come before a mandatory.
If Khan gets his belts back then a fight with Danny Garcia will be a unification...meaning that this fight can take place before any mandatory with Olusegun.
|Share This With Friends|