No announcement yet.

Advice for a starter

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice for a starter

Guys, I'm new to the board and your advice wld be appreciated.

I'll try to keep it brief, but here are my facts:

I'm based in London, 28 yrs old, 6'1" and currently weigh in at around 105KG. I started training 2-3 times a week with a boxing coach roughly 3 months ago - basic technique, pad work, defence, shadow boxing, circuit training. In addition to this I hit a heavy bag for 6 rounds or so a couple of times a week in a regular gym. I do other stuff on top of this: cycling to work every day, swimming, x-trainer and weights.

For my weight, I've got decent cardio fitness (which I've built up over the past year or so during which I've lost over 30KG - at one point I was 138KG due to inactivity following a long term injury - happy to expand on this if anyone's looking to drop 30KG) but I could certainly do with shifting another 10KG or so.

I'm getting comfortable with basic boxing technique, I'm (usually) "moving like a boxer" as my coach says, and I can bang a bit. I doubt I'm anything special, but I've picked boxing up maybe quicker than the average guy and I'm certainly keen.

The next step I want to take is to join a boxing gym - one of the local London clubs eg St Pancras ABC. I'm keen to start sparring and using the boxing skills in the ring. Please forgive my ignorance on all this - but what's likely to happen when I turn up at the club? Will I be assessed and if so how? How quickly could I be sparring? And what type of guy am I likely to be in against (I realise that at my weight I could be fighting guys 7 feet tall !!)

I'm aware that I've left it late to start, and to be honest I'd probably be quite happy if all I ever achieved was to spar regularly at a decent level. But have any of you guys seen a similar situation to mine? Is there any chance of me doing more than just sparring? What would the usual progression be?