Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Anyone sparred a pro boxer as an amateur?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone sparred a pro boxer as an amateur?

Pretty straight forward. Has anyone ever sparred a pro boxer as an amateur?

I have and I'm ashamed to say I was hurt by a straight right hand. Landed right on my mouth, I saw stars and my eyes watered immediately. I had to take a break after that hit. Dude hit extremely hard but he had been boxing for about 4 years before I even sparred him.

Yes when i was active we had a lot of up and coming pro fighters in the gym and i took some beatings but i learned from them.amazing how you can watch tv and not realize the little things fighters do in the ring

Comment

yea I did that alot, and continue to do so. no other way to get better than to spar the best guys you can. you live in philly, you got an extra advantage too heehee

Comment

He was just awaiting his first pro fight, I was a novice AM though so he was just cool about it and just worked his defense a lot.

It was great fun.

Comment

The main reason I have so much respect for boxers is because the people that are referred to as "bums" can still whip the piss out of the average Joe.

It's about the level of competition really.

The guy I sparred actually went on to win an international title and he has a decent record. I'll drop a hint. He fought a "dog" and lost.

Anyway I was 14 and he was 21 at the time.

Comment

Originally posted by SnakeVen0m View Post
            The main reason I have so much respect for boxers is because the people that are referred to as "bums" can still whip the piss out of the average Joe.

It's about the level of competition really.

The guy I sparred actually went on to win an international title and he has a decent record. I'll drop a hint. He fought a "dog" and lost.

Anyway I was 14 and he was 21 at the time.
            A dog?

Or The Dog?

Comment