No announcement yet.

Form?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Form?

As a newbie here I would like to introduce myself first. I am in my mid 20's and have been a life long fan of boxing. Unfortunately, I have just started going to the boxing gym a couple months ago. I really wanna learn the sport the right way and am willing to take my time to progress. Now to my question....

Is there a certain body form(stance) better suited for different body-types or fighting styles? For example I see Zab Judah turning his right shoulder(southpaw) constantly towards his opponent to reduce the space in his body his opponent could hit. Then i see a lot of fighters almost square their shoulders up. I myself am an orthodox. Now I try to almost have my body be sideways so that im almost looking at my opponent with my chin over my shoulder. Can anyone give me some advice and general opinions on fighting stances(form)?

what a good forum.

Comment

i do both styles you talk about and they both work well, just do what you feel suits you best

Comment

exactly do what feels best, look at ali and rjj, there stance goes here there n evrywhere. have a stance, dat allows u to have ur feet under u at all times, and allow u too punch hard and fast.

Comment

Learn the most efficient way, which is to NEVER square yourself up. Only if you discover that you have talent comprable to say a Roy Jones Jr. do you ever want to do something like that. The same goes for holding your hands low.

Comment

Originally posted by Journeyman
            what a good forum.
            Sarcasm and pretty quick too!