Hey Guys Help Me Out!!!

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hey Guys Help Me Out!!!

Alright fellas, here's the deal.

I just read in the paper that the Chicago Golden Gloves Tournament registration is this weekend and next weekend.
    I would really like to try this out. HOWEVER, I have no formal boxing experience. In the past months I have read several informational books on the sport because I was planning on getting involved in boxing by the summer.

I know it's probably not the wisest thing to do, as far as entering something like this without experience but I figured it's more just to get my feet wet and see how I like it.

I am a very exceptional collegiate athlete with no stamina problems. (I realize boxing takes more out of you than basketball.) I have been planning on trying the sport so I've been dieting to bring weight down as low as I can. I'm 6'6'' and weight around 200 right now. For basketball I was around 230. Body fat index was last measure at 5.2%. I know it's premature but I believe boxing is something I can really excel at.

Okay, now that you got the info on me, here's where I need your help.

1. Do you think this is a wise idea to enter the tournament?

2. What do I need to bring to the tournament? I already have boxing shoes I ordered from Title. It also says I can purchase a current USA boxing passbook at the site for $30 dollars. Do I need to buy my own gloves? Any specific kind?

3. What is the format of the tournament? One and done? Double Elimination?

Well guys, this is all last minute but thanks for listening to me rant on about this whole thing. If you have any advice at all for me, please let me know. Anything I should expect or tips. Thanks alot guys.

Also, If any of you guys are in the chicago area and have any experience in the sport and would like to guide me through this thing, let me know. Any help I can get would be much appreciated.

Comment