No announcement yet.

Weights & stunting growth?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Weights & stunting growth?

i've been lifting weights for about 2 months now and have seen vast improvements in my body. im 15, 130 pounds , and 5' 7". i was wondering if its such a good idea to lift right now since it might stunt my growth.ever since i was 13 i've been waiting to hit the weights but was scared that i could stay small but here i am now at a mediocre height for my age. should i stop? ohh yea this might help a lil bit, i am filipino...we're not that big.
    Last edited by azn_violater; 04-28-2005, 06:50 PM.

than i would say it is okay to keep lifting just make sure if you do bench press work out your shoulders and back bc the chest muscle will grow over the shoulder musclue and cause serious problems

Comment

The whole "weights will stunt your growth" thing is pretty much a training MYTH. And since boxing is the home of training myths, I'm sure plenty of people will tell you to stop doing the weights untill you're 25, legally married, and have made a blood sacrifice to the virgin Mary.

Keep hitting the weights if you want, there's no problem in doing so, just do it in a sensible manner, especially if you're boxing.

Comment

do not think that bodybuilding will stop anyone's height. Improper weight training can stunt your growth if you prematurely impose enough stress on the growth plates to cause them to close up early. The human male can grow in height till he is about 22 years old. So, you have about 6-7 years of growing left to do. Just target the muscles and do not go too heavy on squats and big compound multi-joint requiring exercises and you should be fine. Your height seems fine for your age. You may come from a genetically challenged family and that is the growth issue more than bodybuilding. I take it that this is the issue because you have been lifting for only two months now.

Comment