No announcement yet.

Hello!=0)

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello!=0)

I'm new at this and I need some advice. I just signed my little brother up into a boxing club in burbank Ca. I am not sure if i made the right choice in picking that particular boxing gym. I wanted to know what i should be looking for when choosing a gym for him, what kinda trainer, how much should i be paying, ext. Can anyone help me with this?

you have to know what you're getting for your money. My first boxing gym was really nice. It was open in the late afternoon-nights and had at least a couple trainers there all the time. They put their members on a specific program that changed as the member progressed. They gave personal attention when needed and were laid back, which made the gym welcoming to both competitive and recreational boxers. Everyone was comfortable, which helped beginners progress faster and not get insecure during their beginning stages.

I think i paid like $65/month. Which may seem like a lot, but it was worth it considering: the personal coaching/training/attention and the facility (one ring, fitness equipment, plenty of punching bags, a lot of gloves for free rental).

Certainly the more personal attention one receives the better, though you can expect to pay for what you get.

IMO the best trainers are the ones confidant enough with themselves to not be overbearing and inflexible. They should know the aspirations of their members and adjust to differences. At this point, the goal for your brother should probably be to learn in a relaxed environment and see if he likes it. He should come home and be excited about what he is learning and it most definitely should not feel like a chore.

Comment